Case Number 23067: Small Claims Court


Image Entertainment // 2003 // 110 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Brett Cullum // January 5th, 2012

The Charge

Slick, cool, and utterly heartbroken.

The Case

Chris Isaak: Live / Greatest Hits (Blu-ray) is simply a combination of two earlier single disc releases from Chicago's WTTW Soundstage series; one from 2003 and one from 2005 featuring Chris Isaak and his band playing a solid set of some of his most well known songs during those respective tours. Both episodes feature a lot of the same numbers, and it's interesting to see how little the banter changed. Isaak has his act down, from the color of his suits changes to how he handles himself on stage. Of course, there's no crime in any of that; he's a natural concert performer who delivers live as good as he gives in the studio.

First up is Chris Isaak: Live in Concert (2003), which features the following setlist...

* "American Boy"
* "Wicked Game"
* "Heart-shaped World"
* "Go Walkin' Down There"
* "Baby did a Bad Bad Thing"
* "Courthouse"
* "Somebody's Crying"
* "One Day"
* "San Francisco Days"
* "Forever Blue"
* "Super Magic 2000"

Towards the end the set, Chris welcomes Raul Malo to the stage for two songs from his first solo outing without the Mavericks.

Next up is Chris Isaak: Greatest Hits Live (2005), which features these numbers...

* "Let Me Down Easy"
* "Wicked Game"
* "Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing"
* "Solitary Man"
* "Western Stars"
* "Can't Do A Thing (To Stop Me)"
* "Only The Lonely"
* "Wrong To Love You"
* "American Boy"
* "Notice The Ring"
* "Diddly Daddy"

Bonus tracks show Chris singing "Goin' Nowhere," "Blue Hotel," and "Think Of Tomorrow."

Presented in 1.78:1/1080i high definition Blu-ray with 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, these transfers give everything a slight audio/visual boost over their DVD counterparts. He is fully aware of the cameras -- which means some of the moments feel forced -- but the shows capture Isaak and the band at the peak of their career. Since there's nothing exclusive to the format, an upgrade is a tough sell. However, for those who don't already own these performances, hardcore completists will gobble this up, and casual fans will find it the most comprehensive way to view this man in action.

Chris Isaak will go on getting his heartbroken, looking impossibly good while doing it, and here's all the proof you need.

The Verdict

Guilty of making the ladies swoon and the oldies croon.

Review content copyright © 2012 Brett Cullum; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Judgment: 90

Perp Profile
Studio: Image Entertainment
Video Formats:
* 1.78:1 Non-Anamorphic (1080i)

Audio Formats:
* DTS HD 5.1 Master Audio (English)

* None

Running Time: 110 Minutes
Release Year: 2003
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* Bonus Songs

* IMDb: Soundstage: Chris Isaak: Live in Concert

* IMDb: Soundstage: Chris Isaak: Greatest Hits Live

* Official Site