Case Number 00910


Image Entertainment // 2000 // 105 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // December 13th, 2000

Opening Statement

After his career ended with The Eagles in 1980, Don Henley began a successful solo career, releasing albums sporadically over the next 20 years. From his debut "I Can't Stand Still" to his latest album "Inside Job," Henley has shown that in an age of teen pop and alternative metal, old-fashioned rock and roll is still alive and kicking. Image Entertainment has released this live concert recorded in Texas from his "Inside Job" tour on DVD.

Facts of the Case

This live "remarkable" (so speaketh the DVD packaging) concert was filmed at Fair Park Music Hall in Dallas, Texas, during Henley's newest tour. It looks like a nice area to play in, though the curtained backdrop looks like something Stevie Nicks discarded from her wardrobe back in 1987. Henley, sporting a Priest-like shirt and a hairstyle that looks as if he's been licking light sockets, appears somewhat stiff onstage, but we're not watching to see him to do the truffle-shuffle. We're here for the music.

Also included in the beginning of this concert is a quick-edit interview of Henley's thoughts on...well, everything. He chats about his family and what he's been doing, what he thinks of his music, and what it's like to be onstage in front of an audience. The DVD includes the songs:

* Dirty Laundry
* Sunset Grill
* Workin' It
* Taking You Home
* The Boys Of Summer
* Lilah
* Everything is Different Now
* The End Of The Innocence
* All She Wants To Do Is Dance
* New York Minute
* Talking To The Moon
* They're Not Here, They're Not Coming
* The Heart Of The Matter
* Desperado
* The Long Run
* My Thanksgiving
* Hotel California

The Evidence

I have been described by an ex-girlfriend as having very "inoffensive" music preferences, referring specifically to the fact that I like The Eagles. If anyone ever tells you that you have "inoffensive" music preferences, this their way of politely saying your music tastes suck donkey balls. I, however, refuse to bow down to the conformity of today's musical scene. If I have to sit through one more Backstreet Boys song, there's going to be trouble the likes of which N'Sync have never seen.

Or is it 98°?

Whatever. They all sound the same to moi.

My point is that in this day and age, it's nice to see someone like Don Henley still making music and not trying to make it sound like what we're hearing today (i.e. crap). Henley has had some great hits ("The End Of The Innocence," "The Boys Of Summer") and this DVD collects them all in a relatively long show featuring not only Henley's hits but also a few of The Eagles' as well. Henley is excellent at crafting intelligent, thoughtful lyrics backed by catchy beats. Though Henley can sometimes veer into overly weird songs (such as the spaced out "They're Not Here, They're Not Coming"), he often does a few variations on different classics, including a very different version of "Hotel California."

Don Henley: Live Inside Job is presented in it's original 4:3 full frame aspect ratio, and for a concert recording looks remarkably clear. The picture shows no signs of digital artifacting or shimmer, and the colors are bright with no bleeding. Blacks were solid, and for what this is (a concert show) the image is very strong. A very good job by the people over at Image Entertainment.

Audio is the strongpoint of the DVD package, and what most consumers will purchase it for. You get three choices: Dolby Digital 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1, and a DTS track. Why Image decided to put a 2.0 track on here is beyond me. It seems that most of us will only be listening to the 5.1 or DTS tracks. As I don't have the most intricate sound system, I won't be able to give the most accurate reading on the differences between the two. On my sound system both sounded crisp, clear, and well mixed. It's a nice bonus to have a DTS track on this disc, as it seems that many DVD companies tend to leave this track off most of their releases (Universal often times being the exception). Overall a well mixed audio portion.

No extras are included on this disc, though there are some nifty moving menus, which should give you and the family seconds of enjoyment.

The Rebuttal Witnesses

I've no real complaints about this disc, though it would have been nice to see a couple of those old Eagles make a guest appearance.

Closing Statement

If you're buying this disc for a nice video presentation and a great audio mix, Don Henley: Live Inside Job won't disappoint. Although not always the most charismatic performer physically, Henley plays most all his greatest hits plus material off the new "Inside Job" album. No extras, but in my opinion none are needed. Cost is around $19.99-$24.99, so you should make sure you're a fan of Henley's work (or The Eagles) before you throw it in the shoppin' cart.

The Verdict

A great concert disc that will play wonderfully on your DVD/sound system!

Review content copyright © 2000 Patrick Naugle; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Video: 93
Audio: 95
Extras: 0
Judgment: 93

Perp Profile
Studio: Image Entertainment
Video Formats:
* Full Frame

Audio Formats:
* DTS 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround (English)

* English

Running Time: 105 Minutes
Release Year: 2000
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* None

* None