Case Number 21196: Small Claims Court


Animal Planet // 2011 // 430 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // April 24th, 2011

The Charge

Exposing the heart-stopping journeys past the edge of human endurance.

The Case

From Animal Planet, a series sporting a surprising lack of animals.

I Shouldn't Be Alive Season 3 benefits from a fairly self-explanatory title. These are stories about people who in fact shouldn't be alive. On the disc: 10 episodes running 45 minutes each detailing the nightmarish travails these poor suckers had to face, and how they emerged to have dramatic reenactments about their experiences picked up by a basic cable channel.

The episodes:

* "Trapped In The Canyon"
* "Date From Hell"
* "Nightmare on the Mountain"
* "Crushed by Quad Bike"
* "Boys Adrift"
* "Fear in Freefall"
* "Shattered on Impact"
* "Lost in the Outback"
* "Blizzard of Death"
* "Avalanche of Terror"

I know what you're thinking: "Whoa, those are the most violent titles for TV episodes that I have ever seen!" Indeed, these sound more like titles for Hardy Boys mysteries, but having seen some of the re-enacted craziness that these hapless folks had to endure, I think the hyperbole is merited.

These are nerve-wracking tales to be sure, from the girl who fell off a cliff and climbed around the canyon floor with a shattered pelvis to the dopes who got lost in the woods and set off a cataclysmic forest fire to gain the attention of rescuers. Each story is worthy of a two-page spread in Reader's Digest. And if that's not a ringing endorsement, I don't know what is.

No extras, but the shows are given a nice technical treatment: a clean, nice-looking 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen, and 2.0 stereo.

The Verdict

Not Guilty. You might want to put some Neosporin on that.

Review content copyright © 2011 David Johnson; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Judgment: 80

Perp Profile
Studio: Animal Planet
Video Formats:
* 1.78:1 Anamorphic

Audio Formats:
* Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)

* None

Running Time: 430 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* None

* IMDb