Case Number 04390: Small Claims Court


Eagle Eye Media // 2003 // 84 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // May 12th, 2004

The Charge

"My hands are small, I know / but they are not yours they are my own..."

The Case

So you say you've always wanted to see angelic voiced Jewel live, but she hasn't been to your town? Don't have the moo-lah, the dough, the cash, or da' bling-bling to see her live? Well, I may just have the ticket for you: Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay. Filmed over two nights at Humphrey's just before the launch of her "This Way" tour, Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay features some of Jewel's best-known songs, including "Hands," "You Were Meant For Me," and "Who Will Save Your Soul?" Be a part of this once in a lifetime concert experience (unless Jewel tours into your town again...and again and again) as Jewel croons to the crowd...and to you!

The songs included on this concert are as follows:

* Per La Gloria D'Adorarvi
* Near You Always
* Loss The Flame
* Rosy And Mick
* Everything Breaks Sometimes
* Sometimes It Be That Way
* Grey Matter
* Break Me
* The New Wild West
* You Were Meant For Me
* Hands
* Everybody Needs Someone Sometime
* Who Will Save Your Soul

My humble opinion is that Jewel has been around a lot longer than she's been needed. I know that sounds harsh, but let's be honest: touchy feely folk singers aren't really in demand right now. But Jewel has stayed and, in somewhat of a surprise twist of fate, reinvented herself with her 2003 album "0304" in which the singer songwriter became what appears to be a Britney Spears/Christina Aguilera knock-off (Jewel has pointed out that this is supposedly a big, fat joke, but if that's the case it's the longest running musical career joke in history).

If you want to see what Jewel was like before she became a Madonna wannabe, Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay may be your best option. The singer hits all of her (at the time) biggest hits, including the delicate "Hands," the bluesy "Who Will Save Your Soul?" and a bunch of other songs I didn't recognize, written by her and other artists. The disc starts off with a solo vocal performance of "Per La Gloria D'Adoravi," a song that I never feel the need to listen to again even at gun point. The rest of the concert is fairly loose and free with Jewel calling up a fan from the stage to help her remember a song. Joking and laughter abound, as well as lots of songs that to my discriminating ear all sound the same.

Now, before I get angry letters from Jewel fans, let me say that I'm a huge Bruce Springsteen fan. I know what it's like when someone says "all the songs sound the same." My brother thinks "The Boss" only sings about hard times and being out of work. I'm not saying Jewel is an irrelevant artist or someone that should go away. She just isn't much to my personal tastes. Music is a very personal matter -- one man's Jessica Simpson is another man's BB King. If you like Jewel and have always wanted to have a live recording of her on DVD, Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay will certainly satisfy your hunger...and possibly save your soul in the process.

Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay is presented in 1.33:1 full frame, its original aspect ratio. Overall this is a fine looking transfer that features solid colors and dark black levels. The images are sometimes a bit fuzzy due to the live, on-the-spot camera work, but these are small quibbles. If you're a fan of Jewel this image will be more than adequate for your viewing pleasure.

The soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS 5.1, and Dolby 2.0 Stereo. Obviously the way to go is either the Dolby 5.1 or the DTS track. While the DTS mix may have a slight advantage over the Dolby track (the sound was slightly more clear to my ears), overall both of these mixes features well placed dynamic range through both the front and rear speakers. No alternate subtitles are available on this disc.

Eagle Eye Media has added a few extra features on Jewel: Live At Humphrey's By The Bay, most notably four bonus videos for the songs "Standing Still," "Love Me, Just Leave Me Alone," "Do You Want To Play?" and "Jesus Loves You." Also included on this disc is a ten-minute interview with Jewel, a photo gallery, a complete discography (a grand total of five albums long, including a Christmas release), web links, and a jukebox for playing the live songs in random order.

Review content copyright © 2004 Patrick Naugle; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Judgment: 79

Perp Profile
Studio: Eagle Eye Media
Video Formats:
* Full Frame

Audio Formats:
* DTS 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)

* None

Running Time: 84 Minutes
Release Year: 2003
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* Four Bonus Videos
* Discography
* Photo Gallery
* Weblinks
* Interview
* Jukebox

* None