Case Number 05068: Small Claims Court


Eagle Vision // 2004 // 85 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // August 26th, 2004

The Charge

Love lift us up where we can leave our hats on.

The Case

If you're in the mood for a little rock and roll, a little R&B, and a little bit of soul, look no further than the sandpapery voice of musician Joe Cocker. A mainstay on adult contemporary stations across the country, Joe Cocker Live: Across From Midnight Tour was recorded live "in the magical setting of the Waldbuhne ('Stage in the Woods'), Berlin."

Track List:

* Could You Be Loved
* Feelin' Alright
* Have a Little Faith In Me
* Up Where We Belong
* You Can Leave Your Hat On
* When the Night Comes
* N'Oubliez Jamais
* Summer in the City
* You are So Beautiful
* Into the Mystic
* Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
* Delta Lady, The Letter
* Unchain My Heart
* With a Little Help from My Friends
* Across from Midnight
* Cry Me a River

My knowledge of all things Joe Cocker is fairly minimal. If you were to ask me what songs he's sung, I'd probably respond, "that 'Up Where We Belong' tune and...err, he's done other stuff, too?" If this would be your response as well, I have the feeling you wouldn't be alone. To rectify that, there's the release of Joe Cocker Live: Across From Midnight Tour, a concert from 1997 featuring many of Cocker's biggest hits, many of them unknown to this reviewer.

I like Joe Cocker. The guy's got a great voice, and on top of that is endlessly entertaining to watch. Spoofed by John Belushi on Saturday Night Live because of his spastic stage moves (the guy looks like he's quite literally having an epileptic seizure on stage), Cocker's songs have gone to become near classics. After doing a bit of research (research = a Google search), I found out that Cocker has collaborated with such artists as Bryan Adams and Diane Warren and has covered songs by such artists as The Beatles, Bruce Springsteen, and Van Morrison. What does all that mean? I dunno. I just needed some filler for this review, so I thought I'd share it with you.

If you're into Ashlee Simpson and Creed, sitting through Joe Cocker Live: Across From Midnight Tour may be the equivalent of sitting though a root canal at your local dentist. However, the power of Cocker's voice cannot be denied -- his songs are catchy and well worth a listen.

Joe Cocker Live: Across From Midnight Tour is presented in decent looking 1.33:1 full frame transfer. The overall effects of this picture is underwhelming -- though the colors and black levels are in good shape, overall this video presentation lacks any snap often found in higher profile concert releases. There is hardly any dirt, grain, or other imperfections in the image. This picture won't blow you away, but it's appropriate for the concert it's supporting.

The soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround and DTS 5.1 Surround, both in English. Overall the soundtrack is very good -- the music is pumped through both the front and rear speakers loud and clear without any distortion or hiss. Cocker's voracious singing is the highlight here, and the sound mixes do it fine justice. Also included on this disc is a Dolby 2.0 Stereo soundtrack that is not recommended.

You can leave your hat on, indeed -- there's no reason to take it off when there isn't a single extra feature to be found on this disc.

Review content copyright © 2004 Patrick Naugle; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Judgment: 75

Perp Profile
Studio: Eagle Vision
Video Formats:
* Full Frame

Audio Formats:
* DTS 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)

* None

Running Time: 85 Minutes
Release Year: 2004
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* None

* None