Case Number 05591: Small Claims Court


Eagle Vision // 2004 // 103 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // November 16th, 2004

The Charge

"Since the day I was born / I was bad to the bone...B-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b Bad! "

The Case

You can't get much more American than the song "Bad to the Bone," a tune that George Thorogood will be linked to until the day he dies. The song has been featured in about six dozen movies, each utilizing it at the precise moment when a character wants to let you know he's...well, bad to the bone. Thorogood and his Destroyers have been around for about 30 years, give or take, and to commemorate their lasting appeal they've released a live concert DVD of their 30th anniversary tour. The songs included on this concert are as follows:

* Long Gone
* Who Do You Love
* Night Time
* One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
* Don't Let The Bossman Get You Down
* The Sky Is Crying
* Sweet Little Lady
* Greedy Man
* Bad To The Bone
* Move It On Over
* The Fixer
* You Talk Too Much
* That's It, I Quit
* Rockin' My Life Away

There's nothing like straightforward rock and roll to get your blood pumping. That, in essence, is exactly what George Thorogood and the Destroyers are about -- heavy rock mixed with a tinge of old-fashioned blues. A charismatic performer and staple for guys who like to drink beer and act all manly, Thorogood rose to fame in the 1970s, hitting his peak in 1982 with the release of the album "Bad to the Bone" and its bombastic title track. A staple on MTV and a hit with motorcycle enthusiasts (because, really, isn't that the place a song like that should be played nice and loud?), Thorogood -- and his patented growl -- had three consecutive gold albums before his popularity waned in the 1990s. Although Thorogood isn't the draw he once was (and his albums don't go gold anymore), he and his backing band are still a popular draw on the concert tour circuit.

George Thorogood and the Destroyers: 30th Anniversary Tour Live will please his fans to no end. This concert, a celebration of Thorogood's 30 years of recording and touring (interesting footnote: he was a minor league ballplayer before he was a rocker) should give fans something to sing about. The concert features scorching versions of some of Thorogood's most popular tunes: see the man, the myth, and the legend rip through such bar busters as "One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer," "Who Do You Love," and, of course, the great "Bad To The Bone." Assisted by his backing band (and a great saxophone), Thorogood doesn't make any attempts to be anything other than one of the best bar bands in town.

I can't say that I'm a huge fan of Thorogood, though after seeing this concert I'm apt to check out a "Greatest Hits" compilation next time I'm at Best Buy. While his music may be rather simplistic and straightforward (George Thorogood will never be known as an artist whose songs delved deep into the human spirit), Thorogood is a master at one thing: loud, catchy rock and roll. If that's what you're in the mood for, then George Thorogood and the Destroyers: 30th Anniversary Tour Live is your bottle of bourbon.

George Thorogood and the Destroyers: 30th Anniversary Tour Live is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen. It's a treat when we get a concert in widescreen format, and this disc is no exception -- fans will be happy to know that this transfer is in very good shape. Though there are limitations to the video presentation, overall the colors and black levels are in fantastic shape.

The soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround and DTS Surround, both in English. Both the DTS and Dolby 5.1 mixes are excellent and utilize both the front and rear speakers. Thorogood's beer-soaked songs are vibrant, crystal clear, and well heard throughout the concert. Also included on this disc is a Dolby Digital stereo mix.

The extra features on this disc are rather slim. All fans get are two live acoustic performances of the songs "Ride 'Till I Die" and "Merry Christmas Baby," as well as a promotional video for "American Made."

Review content copyright © 2004 Patrick Naugle; Site layout and review format copyright © 1998 - 2016 HipClick Designs LLC

Scales of Justice
Judgment: 82

Perp Profile
Studio: Eagle Vision
Video Formats:
* 1.85:1 Anamorphic

Audio Formats:
* DTS 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
* Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)

* None

Running Time: 103 Minutes
Release Year: 2004
MPAA Rating: Not Rated

Distinguishing Marks
* "Ride 'Till I Die" Bonus Performance
* "Merry Christmas Baby" Bonus Performance
* Promo Video "American Made"

* None