DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 20413

Buy 24: Season Eight (Blu-Ray) at Amazon

24: Season Eight (Blu-Ray)

Fox // 2010 // 1056 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // December 29th, 2010

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson has no idea where the nuclear rods are and if you persist in your enhanced interrogation he's going to contact the ACLU.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of 24: Season One: Special Edition (published June 6th, 2008), 24: Season Two (published October 7th, 2003), 24: Season Three (published January 12th, 2005), 24: Season Four (published January 9th, 2006), 24: Season Five (published January 1st, 2007), 24: Season 6 (published December 4th, 2007), 24: Season 7 (Blu-Ray) (published June 26th, 2009), and 24: Season Seven (published June 1st, 2009) are also available.

The Charge

No, seriously, this is the longest day of my life.

Opening Statement

After eight improbable seasons, 24 has lowered the curtain. What does Jack Bauer have in store for his final mission? Two words: Nuclear. Rods.

Facts of the Case

Yes, nuclear rods. Fearsome, terrifying nuclear rods. And they're loose somewhere in New York City, with a rogue faction of a fictional Islamic Republic tracking them down to light up the Big Apple. Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland, Dark City) can't have that, so he teams up with CTU NYC and investigates the conspiracy the only way he knows how: by burying fire axes into the chest cavities of bad guys.

Exciting side stories include: Renee (Annie Wesching) going crazy, another CTU head redefining incompetence, a destructive and co-dependent romance between two supposed anti-terror professionals (Freddie Prinze, Jr., Scooby-Doo; and Katee Sackhoff, Battlestar Galactica), a normally clear-thinking president abandoning all manner of common sense, another mole and, of course, a mandatory appearance by the Old White Man Cabal.

The Evidence

After all we've been through, 24 and me, the time has come to bid farewell—until the inevitable big-screen adaptation of course. For now, Season 8 stands as the last time we'll see the ambition of pulling together 24 episodes of real-time action television that has been marked by periods of awesomeness and inconsistency. For every Jack Bauer interrogation with a frayed house lamp power cord there's Kim Bauer getting chased by a cougar. For every sweet last-minute Tony Almeida rescue mission there's a group of frogmen invading the White House. Still, the balance swings definitively to the "24 is fun and I'm sure glad it existed" side of the spectrum.

Season 8 serves as a nice microcosm for the show's triumphs and flaws. There's plenty to get on board with, from Jack teaming up with his Arab counterpart and destroying bad guys to Jack dressing up as the Terminator and unloading high-caliber ordnance to Jack throwing knives into the necks of Russian gangsters.

Perhaps you noticed the pattern, that all this stuff involves Jack doing awesome stuff. That's because Season 8 suffers from the same ailment that befell so many of its predecessors: Jack Bauer's adventures are must-see TV, but the peripheral goings-on can be terrible.

At the beginning, things started to look up. President Taylor (Cherry Jones) tends to be interesting and I got a kick out of Prinze's Alpha field agent Cole Ortiz. Alas, it wasn't long until all the energy got sapped out of even the mildly interesting side stories; President Taylor clung to plot convention, which forced her to do indulge in some ridiculous abuses of power and Cole got dragged down by Dana Walsh (Sackhoff), quite possibly one of the worst characters devised (lucky for her, CTU head Brian Hastings distracted from her horribleness with his frequent and shocking displays of utter incompetence).

That's enough bad mouthing. I swear I'm a huge fan of the show and I wouldn't want our last season review to go down on poor note. The silver lining? Chloe remained a force to be reckoned with, crazy Renee's craziness was amusing and Jack went out like a stud. And oh the Hyundai product placement!

Fox's Blu-ray set is a technical winner, but the extras, while solid, don't reflect the gravity of the series-ending situation. Picture quality is clean and highly detailed, the 1.78:1 transfer (AVC @18MBPS) rendering the action extremely well (the sci-fi-like CTU office is particularly high-gloss). A 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio pushes the sound, and does so nicely, blasting out the always-excellent score and filling your viewing area with numerous explosions and gunshots and "Dammit!"

Extras: extended select episodes, brief Scenemaker featurettes on 21 episodes, featurettes (in HD) looking at the CTU construction and the CGI creation of NYC and deleted scenes, including "Chloe's arrest."

The Rebuttal Witnesses

That's some terrible cover art.

Closing Statement

This show has had its ups and downs, but I'll always be grateful that it brought Jack Bauer into my life. Season 8 is just as wacky.

The Verdict

Not Guilty. See you on the big screen Jack!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give 24: Season Eight (Blu-Ray) a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• Warm Springs
• Hustle And Heat
• Wargames: 25th Anniversary Edition
• Pursuit

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 90
Audio: 90
Extras: 80
Acting: 80
Story: 75
Judgment: 76

Perp Profile

Studio: Fox
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Non-Anamorphic (1080p)
Audio Formats:
• DTS HD 5.1 Master Audio (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
• French
• Spanish
Running Time: 1056 Minutes
Release Year: 2010
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Action
• Blu-ray
• Crime
• Drama
• Mystery
• Television
• Thriller

Distinguishing Marks

• Extended Episodes
• Deleted Scenes
• Featurettes

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2010 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.