DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 27369: Small Claims Court

Buy Adventure Time: The Suitor at Amazon

Adventure Time: The Suitor

Cartoon Network // 2011 // 176 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Dawn Hunt // May 25th, 2014

• View Judge Hunt's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hunt
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Dawn Hunt's diary is titled "Misadventure Time."

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Adventure Time: The Complete First Season (published July 5th, 2012), Adventure Time: The Complete First Season (Blu-ray) (published June 17th, 2013), Adventure Time: The Complete Second Season (Blu-ray) (published June 17th, 2013), Adventure Time: The Complete Third Season (Blu-ray) (published April 6th, 2014), Adventure Time: Fionna and Cake (published March 23rd, 2013), Adventure Time: It Came from the Nightosphere (published March 2nd, 2012), Adventure Time: Jake vs. Me-mow (published November 18th, 2012), and Adventure Time: My Two Favorite People (published September 25th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

P-bubs. It's all about P-bubs.

The Case

In Adventure Time we follow Finn the human (Jeremy Shada, Incredible Crew) and Jake the dog (John DiMaggio, The Penguins of Madagascar) as they travel through the Land of Ooo on fantastical adventures. Finn and Jake are best friends as well as brothers and roommates. The Land of Ooo is a mystical land where anything is possible and since Jake is a magical talking dog, he fits right in the wacky landscape. Well into its sixth season, the show is a juggernaut for Cartoon Network.

Adventure Time: The Suitor is yet another random collection of 16 episodes. My dislike of random packs is well documented on this site and this release does nothing to change my mind. In fact, if anything it only strengthens my position as these episodes require more backstory and understanding of the show's mythology than any random pack I've watched thus far. So this relegates it to "purchase only if a fan of the show," and if you're a fan of the show, why aren't you buying the full season releases?

• "The Suitor" (Season 5, Episode 21)
Peppermint Butler (Steve Little, Eastbound and Down) encourages Princess Bubblegum (Hynden Walch, Teen Titans) to get out of her lab and learn about boys.

• "James Baxter the Horse" (Season 5, Episode 19)
James Baxter is a horse with the ability to make anyone happy.

• "Shh!" (Season 5, Episode 20)
Jake and Finn make a bet as to who can stay silent longest.

• "Another Five More Short Graybles" (Season 5, Episode 24)
Five tiny stories all woven together.

• "Wizards Only, Fools" (Season 5, Episode 26)
Princess Bubblegum is out to prove magic is just science.

• "Be More" (Season 5, Episode 28)
Jake and Finn go undercover as MOs in order to help BMO.

• "Sky Witch" (Season 5, Episode 29)
Princess Bubblegum helps Marceline (Olivia Olson, Phineas and Ferb) recover lost items.

• "The Vault" (Season 5, Episode 34)
Finn's sleepwalking prompts Jake to look into repression therapy.

• "Red Starved" (Season 5, Episode 38)
When they become trapped, Marceline contemplates draining Jake while Finn searches for something red.

• "Hug Wolf" (Season 4, Episode 8)
Finn becomes infected and goes around hugging people against their will.

• "Beyond This Earthly Realm" (Season 4, Episode 11)
Finn turns into a spirit unable to be seen by anyone but the Ice King (Tom Kenny, SpongeBob SquarePants).

• "King Worm" (Season 4, Episode 18)
A giant worm is the key to Finn's escape from a dreamscape.

• "Morituri Te Salutamus" (Season 3, Episode 2)
Finn and Jake battle ghostly gladiators.

• "Heat Signature" (Season 2, Episode 26)
Finn and Jake believe they have been transformed into vampires.

• "Blood Under the Skin" (Season 2, Episode 4)
When Finn gets made fun of he searches out a set of magical armor.

• "Henchman" (Season 1, Episode 22)
Marceline tricks Finn into becoming her loyal henchman.

The 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer looks as good as any DVD release. It's truly only the smallest step down from what I know the Blu-ray transfers to be. The colors are intensely bright (almost psychedelic) and play well without any of those pesky problems like compression artefacting or pixelation. The audio is a somewhat disappointing Dolby 2.0 and while it will not necessarily detract from your enjoyment of the show it certainly won't add to it. It's here as a serviceable track but that's it.

The lone special feature is one seen often on these random packs and it's "Little Did You Know," which is a character gallery.

I understand what will make someone decide to purchase Adventure Time: The Suitor. Two of the seasons featured have not yet been released in their complete forms, so if you need to get a fix these disc are all you have until that day comes. But just because I understand it doesn't mean I recommend it. I'm waiting until the full seasons come out.

The Verdict

Glob, pep-but. Glob.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Adventure Time: The Suitor a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• Motherhood
• Samantha Who? The Complete Second Season
• Mo' Money
• Webster: Season Two

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 76

Perp Profile

Studio: Cartoon Network
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
Running Time: 176 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Adventure
• Animation
• Comedy
• Fantasy
• Teen
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Gallery

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2014 Dawn Hunt; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.