DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 15419

Buy Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 2 at Amazon

Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 2

Cartoon Network // 2008 // 88 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Appellate Judge Mac McEntire // January 13th, 2009

• View Appellate Judge McEntire's Dossier
• E-mail Appellate Judge McEntire
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Appellate Judge Mac McEntire can't wait for the Scandinavian remake, Sven 10.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 1 (published November 5th, 2008), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 3 (published April 7th, 2009), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 4 (published September 18th, 2009), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 5 (published November 20th, 2009), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 6 (published March 22nd, 2010), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 7 (published June 18th, 2010), Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 8 (published September 1st, 2010), and Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 9 (published October 5th, 2010) are also available.

The Charge

Ben: "Has anyone ever told you that you're a strange and dangerous person?"
Kevin: "Constantly."

Opening Statement

The good news: The best TV show of the year, Ben 10 Alien Force, gets a new DVD release. The bad news: There are so few episodes on this disc, it feels like Ben 4.

Facts of the Case

Ben Tennyson (Yuri Lowenthal, Naruto) is an ordinary 15-year-old, except that he wields the Omnitrix, a device that allows him to turn into 10 various super-powered aliens. With the help of his magic-using cousin Gwen (Ashley Johnson, Phenom) and metal-absorbing tough guy Kevin (Teen Titans), Ben uses the Omnitrix to battle evil. Good thing, too, because a sinister alien called the Highbreed and its army of "DNAliens" have a mysterious plot brewing.

This episode list just escaped from the Null Void:

• "Max Out"
The disappearance of Ben's grandfather, Max (Paul Eiding, God of War), was the incident that started Ben and company on their current adventures. But where is Max? What has he been up to? Many answers are ahead as the Highbreed leads Ben, Gwen, and Kevin into a trap.

• "Pier Pressure"
Ben finally gets a date with the girl of his dreams, Julie (Vyvan Pham, Kane & Lynch: Dead Men). Unfortunately, as so often happens during the teenage years, the "perfect date" ends up ruined when an alien shows up and starts destroying everything in sight.

• "What Are Little Girls Made Of?"
Ben and Gwen are reunited with their long-lost grandmother (Juliet Landau, Ed Wood), who has some surprising information about where Gwen's magic powers really come from.

• "The Gauntlet"
School bullies Cash and J.T.—remember them from way back in the very first episode of Ben 10?—steal some illegal alien technology and wreak havoc. Has Ben finally met his match?

The Evidence

Four episodes, Cartoon Network? Really? A measly four episodes? As of this writing, Amazon shows that the Ben 10 season sets, two-disc sets with 13 episodes each, are each only a few bucks more than this disc. I'd hoped that this volume would contain the second half of the first season, concluding with the astonishingly awesome Alien X episode, but it looks like a separately sold volume three will wrap things up upon its release. One of the great things about DVD is that we can enjoy entire seasons of our favorite shows in a single package. Getting Ben 10 Alien Force doled out piecemeal like this is a total disappointment. While I'm complaining, I should also point out that these episodes appear to be out of order. The episode "Be-Knighted" originally aired in between "Pier Pressure" and "What Are Little Girls Made Of?"

Now that the gripes are over, it's time to talk about how superb this cartoon is. The scripts are both exciting and smart, providing a lot of adrenaline-rush alien vs. alien action, but numerous character moments as well. It's to the show's credit that Ben and Kevin sitting bored in Kevin's car or Gwen's heart-to-heart chat with her dad can be just as fun and/or captivating as the big action set pieces. The voice acting is a big help, as the interaction between our three heroes sounds natural, like actual conversations three friends might really have.

That said, no one's going to mistake this show for an animated Dawson's Creek. This is sci-fi/superhero/pulp adventure/comic book craziness in the best possible way. In these episodes, we get creepy looks at the DNAliens in disguise, carnival rides come to life with deadly intent, a being made of pure energy, and a human gradually turning into a giant robot. The basic setting, that aliens are among us and only a select few know about it and can do anything about it, provides a lot of variety to the series, so that you never know where the story is going at any given time. Ben 10 Alien Force keeps viewers on their toes throughout, with a lot of delightful surprises and thrilling action.

The full frame picture on this disc is excellent, making the most of the show's bright, vibrant colors. The audio might only be 2.0, but it's solid, bringing the action to life aurally. The only extra is "DNA of a Scene" a short featurette that recreates a scene using original script notes, storyboards, and the finished product. This was nice, but too short. It would be nice to get a better look at some of that great storyboard art.

The Rebuttal Witnesses

Humongosaur! (Sorry, but the big guy is just so cool that I had to mention him somewhere in this review.)

Closing Statement

If this were any other series, I wouldn't recommend a purchase because of how the season is being chopped up into three separate releases like this. But it's Ben 10 Alien Force, and the show's quality is so strong, it's worth it.

The Verdict

Not guilty. Now bring on Alien X!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Ben 10 Alien Force: Volume 2 a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• The Marine 2
• Legionnaire
• Hit Celebrity TV Commercials
• Lethal Weapon 3

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 90
Audio: 85
Extras: 40
Acting: 90
Story: 90
Judgment: 80

Perp Profile

Studio: Cartoon Network
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Release Year: 2008
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Action
• Animation
• Superheroes
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Featurette

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site
• Theme Song!








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2009 Mac McEntire; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.