DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 23433: Small Claims Court

Buy Fan Favorites: The Best of MacGyver at Amazon

Fan Favorites: The Best of MacGyver

Paramount // 1987 // 239 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge P.S. Colbert // March 4th, 2012

• View Judge Colbert's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Colbert
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge P.S. Colbert once used a nuclear warhead to break into his sister's diary.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of MacGyver: The Complete First Season (published February 23rd, 2005), MacGyver: The Complete Second Season (published July 6th, 2005), MacGyver: The Complete Third Season (published September 6th, 2005), MacGyver: The Complete Fourth Season (published December 6th, 2005), MacGyver: The Complete Fifth Season (published March 14th, 2006), MacGyver: The Complete Sixth Season (published June 28th, 2006), MacGyver: The Complete Final Season (published November 24th, 2006), and MacGyver: The TV Movies (published June 18th, 2010) are also available.

The Charge

"The fans have spoken!"

The Case

You know those Facebook "surveys" you regularly ignore; fearing hackers lurk behind every one? Apparently, some brave souls answered CBS Entertainment's recent call for help in selecting the five greatest adventures of America's Hero* for its new bite-sized Fan Favorites: The Best Of MacGyver release.

*A 2007 McCormick Tribune Foundation disaster preparedness poll gave our hero a solid lead over some pretty stiff competition: Indiana Jones, Jack Bauer, Jason Bourne, and John McClane.

Considering all seven seasons have previously been released on DVD—not to mention bundling the MacGyver TV-movies, plus a complete series box set—and that the show continues to run in syndication worldwide, you may wonder who on earth could possibly be left to entice with this no-frills, single-disc sample platter? Well, me for one.

Never mind the sordid details, let's just say my recklessly wild and wonderful youth kept me otherwise occupied during Mac's original prime time run (1985-92). Now older and weaker, I'm amenable to getting my thrills by proxy.

On the menu:

• "Phoenix Under Siege"
• "The Widowmaker"
• "Legend Of The Holy Rose (Parts 1 & 2)"
• "Halloween Knights"

Produced in the show's Second, Third, and Fifth seasons, these five episodes,—all skillfully reviewed by Judge David Johnson—had nary an ounce of artistic nourishment among them. And yet I consumed the lot as eagerly as an ice-cold root beer following a plate of buffalo wings.

Paramount's standard definition full frame presentation acquits itself nobly enough. The slightly fuzzy visuals and mildly washed-out colors are hardly surprising, considering some of these installments are 25 years old. The Dolby 2.0 stereo mix provides functional audio and nothing more. English SDH subtitles are always a plus. There are no bonus features.

While I'm not yet ready to spring for the complete series box set, nor join the official MacGyver Facebook page, this little taster has me seriously considering buying a season or two for my collection.

The Verdict

What does it matter? If I pronounce Mac "Guilty," he's only going to find a clever way out of it! Case dismissed.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Fan Favorites: The Best of MacGyver a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• Fearful Terrorist Movies
• Desperado: Superbit Edition
• The Marine 2
• Firestorm (1998)

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 88

Perp Profile

Studio: Paramount
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
Running Time: 239 Minutes
Release Year: 1987
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Action
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2012 P.S. Colbert; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.