DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 15695

Buy The Biggest Loser Workout: Boot Camp at Amazon

The Biggest Loser Workout: Boot Camp

Lionsgate // 2008 // 55 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Franck Tabouring (Retired) // February 14th, 2009

• View Judge Tabouring's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Tabouring
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Franck Tabouring is working those muscles, baby!

Editor's Note

Our reviews of The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Jump Start (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Last Chance (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 2 (published January 3rd, 2007), The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train (published January 20th, 2013), The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max (published August 21st, 2008), The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max Weight-Loss (published January 8th, 2011), and The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 1 (published January 25th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Real people. Real solutions. Real weight loss!

Opening Statement

You don't need to be a contestant on NBC's hit series The Biggest Loser to lose weight or get into shape. With The Biggest Loser: The Workout—Boot Camp, you can take matters into your own hands by joining fitness trainer Bob Harper as he guides you through several exercise routines that can help you lose pounds and build muscles.

Facts of the Case

Boot Camp offers three workout levels, starting with upper and lower body routines and a bit of carido. The next level includes a set of more powerful moves, while the third and final part will give you the opportunity to exercise using bands and weights.

Also included on the disc are a quick warm-up and cool-down, which are always encouraged to complete with every workout session. And 3,2,1…let's go!

The Evidence

Bob's three-level boot camp program is the ideal workout for people who are out of shape or don't like to hit the local gym. I'm a tall, skinny guy trying to stay physically fit, and I really enjoy these DVDs because my incredibly busy schedule doesn't allow much time to exercise. As someone who's clearly out of shape at the moment, I admit Bob's training sessions are really challenging. That said, they also offer me just the kind of workout I am currently looking for.

Most of the routines on Boot Camp are done standing up, giving you the opportunity to work your legs, arms and your back. The use of medicine balls, bands, and dumbbells is recommended, but as Bob points out, you don't really need them to properly execute his routines.

What I like about Bob is the continuous enthusiasm and energy he brings to these workouts. He's obviously not yelling at his participants as much as he usually does on the show, but he will make you sweat enough in no time. If his talking is too much for you to bear, however, you can pick the "Music-Only Option" in the DVD's main menu. Another great feature on this disc is the "Custom Workout Option," which lets you customize the order and number of levels you desire to complete per session. It's a great way to exercise the way you want without having to switch back to the menu all the time.

The workouts are all presented in full frame, and image quality and audio transfer are fine. As far as special features are concerned, the disc includes a couple of training tips from Bob, but to be honest, these are pretty basic and rather short.

Closing Statement

The Biggest Loser: The Workout—Boot Camp is definitely a great collection of workouts for beginners who are looking for a program that can help them lose weight or get back into shape. Although it's certainly not the toughest television workout I've tried so far, I still found it to be quite challenging.

The Verdict

Not guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give The Biggest Loser Workout: Boot Camp a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 88
Audio: 89
Extras: 75
Story: 90
Judgment: 90

Perp Profile

Studio: Lionsgate
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 55 Minutes
Release Year: 2008
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Fitness and Exercise
• Instructional
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Trainer Tips
• Music-Only Option
• Custom Workout Option

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2009 Franck Tabouring; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.