DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 25155: Small Claims Court

Buy The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train at Amazon

The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train

Lionsgate // 2012 // 101 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Chief Counsel Melissa Hansen // January 20th, 2013

• View Chief Counsel Hansen's Dossier
• E-mail Chief Counsel Hansen
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

People 'round the world, join hands with Judge Melissa Hansen and start an X-Train.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Jump Start (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Last Chance (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Boot Camp (published February 14th, 2009), The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 2 (published January 3rd, 2007), The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max (published August 21st, 2008), The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max Weight-Loss (published January 8th, 2011), and The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 1 (published January 25th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Cross Training Moves for Maximum Weight Loss

The Case

I've done a few of these Biggest Loser workouts; when I do I feel like a big loser…and not in the play-on-words meaning of the show. Seriously, these people are twice my weight and can totally out workout me.

The hook of The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train is cross-training. Bob Harper and Dolvett Quince take us—and few of the TV losers—through a combo of shorter workouts. (Sorry, no Jillian on this one). There's the standard Warm-Up (5 mins), followed by the typical Metabolic Circuit, Power Training, and All About Reps (15 mins each). Oh, they don't sound typical? Well, despite the fancy names, they are. Which isn't a bad thing. Effective moves are effective moves, no matter what they call them. What we get here are lots of squats. Are you mad at your quads? Because Bob and Dolvett will help you punish them. Other moves include variations on squats. Oh, and some curls and presses too, which means you'll need a pair of hand weights. The three main segments aren't all that different. A quite decent Cooldown (5 mins)—at least for these types of DVDs—helps us stretch it all out.

No real bonus features to speak of, though the disc does contain a recommended workout schedule to attain "maximum results." Plus, we can customize the order of the segments, and listen to instructions or just music. Speaking of the music, it's surprisingly not distracting, and the instructions come through loud and clear in Dolby 2.0 Stereo. The camerawork on this standard def 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen presentation gives us a clear view of the moves…along with all of Bob and Dolvett's tattoos, for those of you who are into that sort of thing.

So, how about that whole cross-training (sorry, "X-Train") thing? I am actually a fan of the Biggest Loser DVDs. They're surprisingly effective and addictive for what may seem just like a TV-based cash grab. But I'm still trying to figure out what makes this one X-Tra special. Although it's not completely missing, cardio is not the focus here. The moves help us become stronger and get in shape, but for maximum weight loss we need to add our own movin' and groovin'.

The Verdict

Jump onboard the X-Train. Woo! Woo!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 85

Perp Profile

Studio: Lionsgate
Video Formats:
• 1.85:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 101 Minutes
Release Year: 2012
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Fitness and Exercise
• Instructional

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• The Biggest Loser








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2013 Melissa Hansen; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.