DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 18754: Small Claims Court

Buy the DVD at CinematicTitanic.com

Cinematic Titanic: Blood Of The Vampires

Cinematic Titanic // 2009 // 83 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Appellate Judge Mac McEntire // April 21st, 2010

• View Appellate Judge McEntire's Dossier
• E-mail Appellate Judge McEntire
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!

• Buy the DVD at CinematicTitanic.com

 

All Rise...

Appellate Judge Mac McEntire can't wait for them to make Cinematic Lusitania.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Cinematic Titanic Live: Danger On Tiki Island (published June 25th, 2010), Cinematic Titanic Live: East Meets Watts (published May 6th, 2010), Cinematic Titanic Live: Rattlers (published August 7th, 2012), Cinematic Titanic Live: The Alien Factor (published April 23rd, 2010), Cinematic Titanic Live: War of the Insects (published December 28th, 2011), Cinematic Titanic: Doomsday Machine (published August 20th, 2008), Cinematic Titanic: Frankenstein's Castle Of Freaks (published April 23rd, 2010), Cinematic Titanic: Legacy Of Blood (published April 29th, 2010), Cinematic Titanic: Santa Claus Conquers The Martians (published May 7th, 2010), Cinematic Titanic: The Oozing Skull (published August 20th, 2008), and Cinematic Titanic: The Wasp Woman (published May 7th, 2010) are also available.

The Charge

"Aw, cripes. I'm getting married, dad's dying, mom's a vampire—what a crappy day. Well, back to the party. Hope the pizza rolls aren't all gone."

The Case

The Cinematic Titanic crew, made up of roughly half of the best brains who gave us Mystery Science Theater 3000, is back with another round of DVDs in which they take on a slew of bad movies, including this unfortunate attempt at a vampire flick.

Blood of the Vampires was made in the Philippines in the '60s, but is set in Mexico in the '20s. While you try to wrap your head around that, here's what passes for the plot: On the eve of his wedding, Eduardo Escodero learns a frightening fact from his dying father. Eduardo's mom is not dead, as he was raised to believe, but undead. She's a vampire, trapped in a coffin under the house. After a late night encounter with her, Eduardo ends up vamped as well. He proceeds to make with the bloodsucking, destroying his family in the process.

As most folks know by now, Cinematic Titanic consists of former MST3K-ers Joel Hodgson, Trace Beaulieu, TV's Frank Conniff, Mary Jo Pehl, and J. Elvis Weinstein. Their silhouettes riff on movies on platforms to the sides of the screen, rather than in theater seats, and there are fewer and shorter host segments, but other than that, it's the basic MST3K formula. The fictional back story isn't as clear—something about an "institute"—but that's OK, since poking fun at the movie is what we're here for, and they know it.

I've only seen a couple of the CT discs that have been released so far, and this one doesn't seem to reach the comedic heights of the others. The blame for that can't really be placed on our heroic riffers, though, as this movie is one dreary, plodding excuse for a horror flick. You wouldn't think incestuous Mexican/Filipino vampires could be this tedious, but they certainly are. Then this tedium is filtered to us, the viewers, through some nightmarishly bad dubbing, and we've got a movie that's just plain unwatchable. Still, the CT folks give it their best. My favorite wisecracks were about the men's ultra-thin moustaches, how the father only seemed to be dying in some scenes and not all of them, and how the statues in the background emoted better than the actors.

Years ago, I read that the MST3K producers had to turn away a lot of B-movies, because so many of them contained trashy elements not appropriate for television. This is certainly true of Blood of the Vampires. Any hardcore violence is conveniently hidden by stuff like a well-placed tree (!), but some more prurient material is present, especially an incredibly icky relationship between our main vamp character and his younger sister. Far worse, though, is that a number of actors are in blackface, playing the, ugh, household servants. Joel and the gang don't hesitate to make jokes about how awful and horrible and wrong this is, but it's still offensive.

The picture quality is rough, filled with grain and haze. The CT silhouettes are sharp and clear, though, so I'm guessing they did the best with what they had to work with in regards to the original film. This includes the audio. As noted above, the dubbing is excruciatingly bad, not just in term of acting, but in that there's this low hum accompanying the voices every time someone speaks. The CT voices, though, remain easy to hear, and they're the ones we really care about. The only extras are trailers for other Cinematic Titanic releases.

The Verdict

This "Titanic" doesn't sink. As for Blood of the Vampires, it—you guessed it—sucks.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Cinematic Titanic: Blood Of The Vampires a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 80

Perp Profile

Studio: Cinematic Titanic
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 83 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Comedy
• Cult
• Horror
• Independent
• Performance

Distinguishing Marks

• Trailers

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2010 Mac McEntire; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.