DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 12263: Small Claims Court

Buy Bratz: Super Babyz at Amazon

Bratz: Super Babyz

Lionsgate // 2007 // 74 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Bryan Pope (Retired) // October 24th, 2007

• View Judge Pope's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Pope
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Bryan Pope has to admit he liked this, but he won't wait for the director's cut.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Bratz (published December 16th, 2007), Bratz: Desert Jewelz (published January 8th, 2012), Bratz: Fashion Pixiez (published March 21st, 2007), Bratz: Genie Magic (published May 12th, 2006), Bratz: Good Vibes (published April 10th, 2011), Bratz Kidz: Fairy Tales (published February 27th, 2008), Bratz: Pampered Petz (published October 17th, 2010), Bratz The Video: Starrin' And Stylin' (published September 16th, 2004), Lil' Bratz: Party Time (published August 20th, 2008), and Livin' It Up! With The Bratz (published August 25th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Pint-sized superpower meets superstyle!

The Case

Regular readers here at the Verdict are by now familiar with my six-, almost seven-, year-old son, Ben. He co-authored a review of one of the Land Before Time movies with me a couple of years ago. He was four then. Now that he's older and clearly much smarter than me, he's taken to questioning certain things about me. How could I suck so bad at the batting cages last week? What's with all the hair in my ears? Why am I watching Bratz: Super Babyz all alone on a Sunday afternoon?

There are certain things a boy should never have to ask his father.

I explain that watching Super Babyz is an assignment handed to me by the good (ahem) people at DVD Verdict, and that my job is to help consumer parents determine if it's a worthwhile purchase for their children. Ben looks at me with more than a little skepticism, clearly not satisfied by my response. Could my expression register a trace of enjoyment from watching the super terrific adventures of Cloe, Jada, Sasha, and Yasmin? Maaaaaaaybe.

Truth is, I've watched some heinous kiddie fare in my life—some (*cough*Hello Kitty*cough*) for this site. Bratz: Super Babyz isn't bad by comparison. It's colorful, action-packed, and kinda cute, the kind of thing little girls ages four to nine will love. The computer animation is worlds away from Pixar standards, but it gives everything a cool, multidimensional, glossy sheen, sort of like a Jimmy Neutron cartoon.

The Bratz are made distinguishable only by their colorful outfits, but they're not nearly as superficial as I thought they'd be, even though their glammed-up faces creep me out in a Jon Benet Ramsey sort of way. Oh, and even though this is nothing more than an advertisement for the popular line of Bratz toys and video games, big snaps for embracing diversity. Their pint-sized world is one of many colors and nationalities. You go, girl!

So how do they become superheroines in the first place? Their grandmother, Gran, unknowingly buys them a "matter exchanger" that has been misplaced by a band of vegetable-like aliens from outer space. Gran accidentally blasts her charges with the device, transforming them into babies that are super fast, super sticky, super smart and—my favorite—super loud.

It's good wholesome fun for kids, and a good babysitter for parents needing a short reprieve.

The Super Babyz' first movie is presented in its 1.78:1 widescreen format with an anamorphic transfer and 5.1 Dolby Digital audio. It's a solid presentation for any kind of title, much less a straight-to-DVD kids' flick. Spanish subtitles included.

Lionsgate tosses in a few extras for the kiddos, the best of which is a short blooper reel. Short but amusing. Kids can answer a few questions to find out what Super Brat they would be with "Super Who? Super You!" They can also design their own Super Bratz costume using the very limited selection provided on the disc. The Bratz themselves will even critique your choices ("Wow! That's a super awesome costume!"). Don't be too flattered, though—they seemed to like whatever costume mix I threw their way. Finally, you can sing along, karaoke-style, on the film's two songs.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Bratz: Super Babyz a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 80

Perp Profile

Studio: Lionsgate
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
Subtitles:
• Spanish
Running Time: 74 Minutes
Release Year: 2007
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Animation
• Family

Distinguishing Marks

• Bloopers
• Two games
• Sing-Along








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2007 Bryan Pope; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.