DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 14324: Small Claims Court

Buy The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max at Amazon

The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max

Lionsgate // 2007 // 50 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Chief Counsel Melissa Hansen // August 21st, 2008

• View Chief Counsel Hansen's Dossier
• E-mail Chief Counsel Hansen
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Melissa Hansen dances to the beat of her own fitness drummer.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Jump Start (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Last Chance (published January 3rd, 2010), The Biggest Loser Workout: Boot Camp (published February 14th, 2009), The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 2 (published January 3rd, 2007), The Biggest Loser Workout: 30-Day Power X-Train (published January 20th, 2013), The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max Weight-Loss (published January 8th, 2011), and The Biggest Loser Workout: Volume 1 (published January 25th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Real People. Real Solutions. Real Weight Loss!

The Case

I am not a regular viewer of NBC's The Biggest Loser, but I have seen clips of the contestants and their amazing results. Now we too can hope to accomplish similar weight loss with Bob, Jillian, and Kim's training. The contestants work hard on the show for their results and you will have to work hard to make it through this workout. The good thing is the workout can be customized to your level of fitness. There are three levels to choose from, in addition to a warm-up and cool-down. It's suggested that for the first two weeks you do Level 1, then add on Level 2, and a couple of weeks later add on Level 3. This plan can be followed using the "Maximum Results Program" option. Or, you can customize your own workout.

Excited Bob leads Level 1, along with the Warm-up and Cool-down. He fills his 20 minutes with lunges, jumping jacks, and adds in some upper body work with hand weights. Although it's the beginning level, it sets the tone for the whole workout, which is panting and sweating. This is a fast paced and high impact routine that beginners may find difficult, although pushing your limits is the way to become fit. We're encouraged to just do our best and keep moving, something everyone can accomplish. The 10 minutes we spend on Level 2 are lead by tough Jillian and it's high impact with tons of running and jumping. I found this one to be the most difficult of the three. Level 3's final 10 minutes are lead by perky Kim and consist of kickboxing moves. This one is also fast paced, but lower impact.

The production levels may be lacking, but it's nothing that some rehearsal and script memorization couldn't fix. On a positive note, Cardio Max has the unique effect of making you feel not quite as bad when you mess up a routine, especially since the background exercisers are contestants from the show. At first this made me feel good about myself, as they are heavier than I am. My smarmy pride quickly faded, however, when I wasn't able to keep up with them. Four of the contestant's inspirational stories are shared in an extra called, quite appropriately, "Inspirational Stories." There's also an option to do the workouts to music only.

I may never be a regular viewer of the show, but I will be a regular doer of this challenging and effective workout!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give The Biggest Loser Workout: Cardio Max a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 90

Perp Profile

Studio: Lionsgate
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 50 Minutes
Release Year: 2007
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Fitness and Exercise
• Instructional

Distinguishing Marks

• Inspirational Stories

Accomplices

• NBC's The Biggest Loser








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2008 Melissa Hansen; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.