DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 05597: Small Claims Court

Buy Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert at Amazon

Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert

Koch Vision // 2004 // 78 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // November 16th, 2004

• View Judge Naugle's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Naugle
• Printer Friendly Review

Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!


All Rise...

Judge Patrick Naugle is going to rouge his knees and roll his stockings down. Not because this disc has anything to do with the musical...just because.

The Charge

Baby, look away…and buy this DVD!

The Case

They're back! We'll, actually they never really went away. Though Chicago may not be the "next big thing" anymore (nor have they been for well over a decade), the band with the Midwestern name is still on the road and sharing their groovin', rockin' sounds with their audience. In Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert, the band takes the center stage with their greatest hits for a show no Chicago fan is likely to forget. The following is a track listing for this concert:

• Make Me Smile
• Color My World
• Now More Than Ever
• If You Leave Me Now
• Dialogue
• Hard Habit To Break
• Saturday In The Park / Get Away
• Free
• Beginnings
• Just You 'N' Me
• Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
• Feelin' Stronger Everyday
• I'm A Man
• Hard To Say I'm Sorry
• 25 Or 6 To 4

I have always been interested in the band Chicago. Maybe it's because I myself am from the Windy City. Yes, I hail from the same state John Hughes sets all his movies in and where Abraham Lincoln was born. Hey, if you lived in some idle town called "Podunk" and some band called Podunk suddenly because popular, wouldn't you puff your chest just a little bit?

A very short history of Chicago (the band, not the city): Started in the 1960 by some DePaul University students, Chicago is hit its stride in the '70s and '80s, a successful group that mixed various genres of music together (including rock, jazz, classical, and R&B) to the delight of millions of fans. One of the top selling artists of all time, Chicago's hits include "Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?," "25 or 6 to 4," "If You Leave Me Now," "Look Away," and "Hard To Say I'm Sorry," to name just a few. In 1984, the band released their biggest selling album to date, Chicago 17, lead by the vocals of Peter Cetera and filled with multiple hit songs. Cetera left the group in 1985 for a solo career, and Chicago continued on with a few more releases spawning a few more hits. Then the 1990s hit, and Chicago wasn't quite that cool anymore. Since then, Chicago has released multiple albums and played live concerts, though their popularity is now more as a nostalgia act than a serious, cutting-edge music group. And then the cow tipped over the milk pail, and all hell broke loose.

Which brings us to Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert. This recent concert features some of Chicago's biggest hits, as well as some rarities hardly ever performed in concert. Though Peter Cetera's vocals are often sorely missing (one singer in the group sounds slightly like Cetera, though not enough to pass for him), the band is a tightly knit fit of rock, jazz, and other musical stylings that know how to bring down the house (and oh my goodness, listen to that horn section blow!). If you're a fan of Chicago, most likely this disc will make a fine addition to your DVD concert collection. If you're into stuff like thrash metal or Usher…well, you may want to take a pass and pick a copy of this up for your folks as a Christmas gift.

Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert is presented in its original aspect ratio of 1.33:1 full frame. This is a fine looking transfer, though it's nothing very special. The transfer features bright colors, dark black levels, and hardly any noticeable defects. Overall fans will be happy with how this transfer looks. The soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround in English. Overall, I was pleased with how this concert sounds. Though it's not as technically advanced as some Peter Gabriel or U2 DVD, most all of the speakers are engaged throughout the length of the concert. The music is clear and very well recorded.

The extra features on this disc are rather slim. You get a short biography on the band, a photo gallery, a discography, and a "Meet the Band" feature that's short and not very impressive.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Sound Stage Presents Chicago: Live In Concert a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review

Follow DVD Verdict

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 84

Perp Profile

Studio: Koch Vision
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
• None
Running Time: 78 Minutes
Release Year: 2004
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
• Concerts and Musicals
• Performance

Distinguishing Marks

• Biography
• Discography
• Meet the Band
• Photo Gallery


• None

DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2004 Patrick Naugle; Site design and review layout copyright © 2016 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.