DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 08867: Small Claims Court

Buy Cirque Du Soleil: Midnight Sun at Amazon

Cirque Du Soleil: Midnight Sun

Sony // 2005 // 104 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // March 21st, 2006

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

We've decided to ship Judge David Johnson off to Cirque du Soleil. He'll be barking for the yak woman from now on. Trust us, this is what he wants.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Cirque Du Soleil: Anniversary Collection (published February 8th, 2006), Cirque Du Soleil: Corteo (published April 24th, 2006), Cirque Du Soleil: Fire Within (published January 18th, 2005), Cirque du Soleil: Journey of Man (Blu-ray) (published June 18th, 2011), Cirque Du Soleil: La Nouba (published January 18th, 2005), Cirque du Soleil: Solstrom: The Complete Series (published September 21st, 2005), and Cirque Du Soleil: Corteo (Blu-Ray) (published September 23rd, 2008) are also available.

The Charge

As cool as these circus performers are, they sorta freak me out.

The Case

So here's the setting: on July 11, 2004, in Montreal, the International Festival of Jazz joined forces with Cirque du Soleil to put together a one night only orgy of music and acrobatics. This disc brings that celebration to your home theater with an excellent technical presentation.

The show sometimes intercuts between the circus performances and the musical performances and sometimes blends both together. The entire event took place on the streets of Montreal, mobbed with people, with two massive stages set up: one to house the musicians, the other to provide a venue for the Soleil performers to do their thing. There is a semblance of storyline to the gig, with a mysterious (homeless?) man watching the proceedings from above, and who eventually comes down and takes part in the performance. I'm sure it means a great deal to someone but I was too busy watching that hot girl spin around in the air.

So about those Cirque performers: I have to say, overall, their stuff didn't necessarily floor me. You had some truly awesome spectacles, sure, but there were more than a few ho-hum sights, a couple bordering on the laughable. First the good stuff. This one guy was running around a kind of modified hamster wheel, except it was a good 50 feet off of the ground. He would control the swing of the mechanism (kind of like a pendulum that spins 360 degrees) while flipping around and basically engaging in some death-defying acts. Then you had these two acrobats, a male and a female, both jacked, bending and lifting and putting their bodies into positions that appear to be physically impossible. A phalanx of fire eaters was pretty dope, too.

On the iffy end was a girl trapped in a glass box, and while I give her props for cramming herself into it, the ensuing writhing did nothing to drop my jaw. My favorite dumb trick also involved glass. These folks set up this giant pane of glass on the stage then proceeded to simply throw themselves at it. Whatever. I'm guessing some of the more inebriated folks in the streets could have done the same thing.

Still, combined with the music—really, a combination of jazz and that New Age-y stuff that usually accompanies Cirque du Soleil performances—the performances provided for a visceral feast. All the lavish costuming was in place, the make-up, the hairstyles (my favorite: one of the singers seemed to have inserted shovel handles into her coiffure), the lighting—all accounted for and as overwrought as you could possibly desire.

The event was filmed in high definition, and the DVD treatment is excellent. The 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer looks awesome, vivid and lively, and boasting superb detailing. The 5.1 digital mix is robust and effective, especially when you consider music is always happening on this disc. Bonuses include a three minute musical encore, a photo gallery, some posters, and a brief look at Cirque du Soleil.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Cirque Du Soleil: Midnight Sun a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 90

Perp Profile

Studio: Sony
Video Formats:
• 1.85:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Release Year: 2005
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genre:
• Performance

Distinguishing Marks

• Encore
• Photo Gallery
• Posters
• A Look at Cirque du Soleil

Accomplices

• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2006 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.