DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 13246: Small Claims Court

Buy Go, Diego, Go! Diego's Magical Missions at Amazon

Go, Diego, Go! Diego's Magical Missions

Nickelodeon // 2006 // 98 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Roy Hrab (Retired) // March 19th, 2008

• View Judge Hrab's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hrab
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Roy Hrab thinks Diego should just go away.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Go Diego Go! Diego Saves The World (published April 17th, 2011), Go Diego Go! Fiercest Animal Rescues (published July 24th, 2011), Go Diego Go! Great Gorilla (published July 2nd, 2008), Go Diego Go! Great Panda Adventure (published May 8th, 2010), Go, Diego, Go! It's A Bugs' World (published November 6th, 2008), Go, Diego, Go! Moonlight Rescue (published April 2nd, 2008), Go Diego Go! Rainforest Fiesta (published March 19th, 2009), and Go Diego Go! Ultimate Rescue League (published September 19th, 2010) are also available.

The Charge

"Rescue Pack! Coming to the Rescue! Rescue Pack! Coming to the Rescue!"

The Case

Go, Diego, Go! is a spin-off of the hugely successful Dora the Explorer (Diego and Dora are cousins). In this series, Diego helps rescue animals in distress while teaching children some Spanish. Diego and his crew frequently invite the viewer to participate in the show through questions, for example, asking for directions or where an animal is located. Also, a short quiz about the episode's feature animal is asked at the end of each show.

Go, Diego, Go!: Diego's Magical Missions contains four episodes with self-explanatory titles:

"Kicho's Magic Flute": Diego rescues Kicho's Magic Flute from a shape-shifting wizard with the help of a falcon.

"Green Iguana Helps Abuelito Plant A New Strawberry Farm": Diego replants a strawberry farm with the help of a green iguana.

"Diego And Baby Humpback To The Rescue": Diego rescues the King of the humpback whales with the help of a baby humpback whale.

"Giant Octopus To The Rescue": Diego rescues…you get the picture.

There are no extras.

At its most basic level, Go, Diego, Go! is an educational show and, I suppose, that is something worth commending. However, that's really all it is. It lacks heart and enduring characters. I can't help but recall the educational shows that I watched as a child, such as Sesame Street and Mr. Roger's Neighbourhood. These characters had personality, and I still think fondly of the characters on these programs. However, I found this show to be extremely annoying. The repetition of the "Rescue Pack" and "Click the Camera" songs across the episodes was particularly grating. At times, I could not help but recall Judge David Johnson's reaction to Dora The Explorer: Animal Adventures: "Shut Up!!! SHUT UP!!! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD SHUT UP!!!!"

Of course, adults are not the target audience and I'm sure little kids find talking cameras and backpacks endlessly entertaining. Still, I can't fathom a child enjoying Go, Diego, Go! for very long. Diego and his friends are robotic, boring and without personality. There is no character development or humor. It is a show that children will easily discard as they grow older. But, then again, what do I know?

My final thought: If you're not a preschooler, watch at the risk of your own sanity.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Go, Diego, Go! Diego's Magical Missions a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 70

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 98 Minutes
Release Year: 2006
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2008 Roy Hrab; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.