DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 21301: Small Claims Court

Buy Dora The Explorer: It's Haircut Day at Amazon

Dora The Explorer: It's Haircut Day

Nickelodeon // 2011 // 95 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // May 8th, 2011

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

It's haircut day for Judge David Johnson and you know what that means: Mississippi Mudslide!

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Dora The Explorer: Animal Adventures (published June 7th, 2006), Dora The Explorer: Big Sister Dora (published June 1st, 2005), Dora The Explorer: Dora Celebrates Three Kings Day! (published December 24th, 2008), Dora The Explorer: Dora's Big Birthday Adventure (published August 16th, 2010), Dora The Explorer: Dora's Butterfly Ball (published March 23rd, 2013), Dora The Explorer: Dora's Christmas (published December 6th, 2004), Dora The Explorer: Dora's Christmas Carol Adventure (published December 9th, 2009), Dora The Explorer: Dora's First Trip (published April 11th, 2006), Dora The Explorer: Dora's Slumber Party (published September 11th, 2010), Dora The Explorer: It's A Party (published August 4th, 2005), Dora The Explorer: Save The Day (published February 3rd, 2006), Dora The Explorer: Super Babies (published November 2nd, 2005), and Dora The Explorer: Undercover Dora (published February 8th, 2008) are also available.

The Charge

It's time for some big Dora firsts: the first visit to a barbershop with Boots, the twins' first birthday, the first time riding Pegaso, and more!

The Case

Why hello Dora. We meet again. I make no secret of my general disdain for your high-pitched squealing and your irritating, bacteria-invested pet monkey. You return with another four random episodes, and while I would rather do a nickel in Leavenworth than be forced to sit through an all-day marathon with Dora, I have no doubt the kids will swoon.

The episodes:

• "Dora's Hair-Raising Adventure"
It's haircut time as Boots departs to the barber for the first time. He ends up with a sexy coiffure from a suave barber who may or may not have been in Menudo at one time.

dora the explorer haircut

• "Happy Birthday Super Babies"
The super babies—a.k.a. Dora's twin siblings—score their first birthday and like any typical baby birthday, a Cake-snatching Bear threatens to snatch cake and possibly devour children.

• "Baby Winky Goes Home!"
During a Dora and Boots adventure, the duo stumble across a diminutive blue alien named Baby Winky. Their objective: get the little extraterrestrial back his spaceship, presumably before NASA arrives—as they tend to do in kids alien movies—and dismember him.

• "Dora's Pegaso Adventure"
I know we're dealing with a show where a monkey wears human footwear and a talking map guides a Spanish girl with a backpack to treasure, but Dora gets even nuttier with this episode, which finds our heroine riding a Pegasus made of stars to the moon.

The predictably bare-bones DVD: full frame, 2.0 stereo, no extras.

The Verdict

Whatever.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Dora The Explorer: It's Haircut Day a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 75

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2011 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.