DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 26560: Small Claims Court

Buy Duck Dynasty: I'm Dreaming of a Redneck Christmas at Amazon

Duck Dynasty: I'm Dreaming of a Redneck Christmas

A&E // 2012 // 43 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // November 11th, 2013

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Everyone had a great time at Judge David Johnson's redneck Christmas party last year—except for the hippies.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Duck Dynasty: Season 3 (published August 17th, 2013), Duck Dynasty: Season 4 (published January 18th, 2014), Duck Dynasty: Season 5 (Blu-ray) (published July 15th, 2014), Duck Dynasty: Duck Days of Summer (published May 31st, 2014), Duck Dynasty: Season 2, Volume 1 (published March 21st, 2013), and Duck Dynasty: Seasons 1-3 (Blu-ray) Collector's Set (published December 3rd, 2013) are also available.

The Charge

Happy, happy, happy Christmas.

The Case

The Duck Dynasty guys are pretty much omnipresent now, so of course A&E wouldn't sit on a surefire stocking stuffer with a special Christmas-themed DVD release. Here it is, "I'm Dreaming of a Redneck Christmas," featuring all the Duck mayhem you've come to expect: Si sipping iced tea with elf ears, Willie bellyaching about something his wife signed him up to do, Jase and the Duckmen trying and failing to hang up Christmas lights and Miss Kay whipping up a meat-laden feast under the watchful eye of her husband Phil.

Sounds great! Only one problem: this is simply a recycled episode from Season 2. It's episode 13 to be exact and it occurs to me that anyone enamored with Duck Dynasty enough to pony up the cash to purchase this disc (or receive it from a loved one because said loved one knows how much of a fan you are), will have already seen this episode way back in 2012.

It's a 42-minute, double-episode featuring the usual branching narratives for the characters. It all culminates in a genuinely nice family moment outside Phil and Kay's house, in front of the lights, singing "Silent Night," before departing for the famous Robertson show-closing dinner. Nice and sweet.

And old.

Sorry, but as much as I appreciate the Robertson family and get a genuine kick out of their televised reality exploits (as "guided" as they may be), this is a bridge too far. Repackaging a single episode from barely a year ago does not strike me as special in any sense. No, it feels more like a cash grab.

The Verdict

Merry Christmas! Here's a rerun.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Duck Dynasty: I'm Dreaming of a Redneck Christmas a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 65

Perp Profile

Studio: A&E
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
• Spanish
Running Time: 43 Minutes
Release Year: 2012
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Christmas
• Reality TV
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site
• Facebook Page








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2013 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.