DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 16577: Small Claims Court

Buy Sesame Street: Elmo And Abby's Birthday Fun at Amazon

Sesame Street: Elmo And Abby's Birthday Fun

Genius Products // 2009 // 47 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Clark Douglas // June 10th, 2009

• View Judge Douglas's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Douglas
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

It's Judge Clark Douglas' party and he can cry if he wants to.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Sesame Street: 20 Years And Still Counting (published September 4th, 2010), Sesame Street: Abby In Wonderland (published March 3rd, 2010), Sesame Street: Being Green (published April 6th, 2009), Sesame Street: Bert And Ernie's Great Adventures (published May 8th, 2010), Sesame Street: Bert And Ernie's Word Play (published April 9th, 2010), Sesame Street: Bye-Bye, Pacifier! (published January 1st, 2012), Sesame Street: C Is For Cookie Monster (published November 3rd, 2010), Sesame Street: Dinosaurs! (published May 26th, 2008), Sesame Street: Elmo's Shape Adventure (published October 16th, 2011), Sesame Street: Elmo's Travel Songs And Games (published May 8th, 2011), Sesame Street: Firefly Fun And Buggy Buddies (published June 1st, 2010), Sesame Street: Learning Letters With Elmo (published September 4th, 2011), Sesame Street: Love The Earth! (published June 4th, 2008), Sesame Street: P Is For Princess (published August 11th, 2010), Sesame Street: Preschool Is Cool! ABCs with Elmo (published July 6th, 2010), Sesame Street Spoofs! Volumes 1 and 2 (published July 10th, 2011), Sesame Street: The Best Of Elmo 2 (published May 19th, 2010), and Sesame Street: Wild Words And Outdoor Adventures (published April 17th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

Everyone loves birthdays!

The Case

When it comes to DVDs like Sesame Street: Elmo and Abby's Birthday Fun, it becomes a bit pointless to provide any critical analysis. Parents aren't particularly interested in the artistic merits of a 45-minute Sesame Street DVD special. If you're a parent, odds are you just want to know what this DVD is all about and whether it's going to keep your kids quiet while you try to finish up some things around the house. So, I've decided to provide you with a condensed version of the special included here. For your reading pleasure, here is a brief summary.

Abby: Elmo, what is all this stuff? A hat? Ribbons? Sparkly things? What is this for?

Elmo: These are party favors!

Abby: You're doing a favor for a party?

Elmo: HAHAHAHAHAHA! No! Elmo is throwing a party for his pet goldfish!

Cue a song about the birthday party of Fido the Goldfish: "We're giving fishy presents, and making fishy masks, pretending that we're swimming underwater!"

Elmo: Yay! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Abby: Let's play pin the tail on the donkey! I will magically make a tail to pin on the donkey! Oops, I accidentally made a snail instead of a tail!

Elmo: HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Cue a song about birthday parties which freely blends a combination of English and Spanish lyrics. "Time to play with your piñata, muy bien, very good!" Naturally, this is accompanied by images of Hispanic children partying. This is immediately followed by a brief video about a girl in India demonstrating just how children in her country have a birthday party. We later see a similar video featuring children from Uzbekistan.

Elmo: I want braids! Give me braids, Abby!

Abby: Okay! Oh, no, I accidentally gave you a giant bun!

Elmo: Aaaghhh! Get it off me, Abby!

Abby: Sorry, sorry! Phew, it's gone now.

Elmo: Hey, let's go to fairy tale land and have a party with Little Jack Horner and Little Red Riding Hood.

Several minutes of completely incomprehensible fairy tale-inspired chaos ensues. The kids will like it, because there are lots of characters yelling in silly voices. Why is Elmo chasing a bucket of water? Who are those Swedish people? Why don't they talk like the Swedish Chef? Does the Hensonverse have no sense of continuity? A talking tennis ball is popping out of a pie? What the hey?

Elmo: Let's sing!

Cue a song about the joy of having a birthday: "It's your birthday! It's your birthday! It's time to do the birthday dance! Don't eat too much! It's your birthday!"

Elmo: Yay! HAHAHAHAHA! Elmo wants to go home now.

Abby: Okay. Here you go. Oh no, my spell didn't work!

Elmo: Oh no! How will I get home?

Red Riding Hood: I will send you home, Elmo. Poof!

Elmo: Yay! Elmo is home! It's time for Elmo's world! La-la-la-la, la-la-la-la, Elmo's world! Elmo blah-blah-blah-blah, Elmo's world! HAHAHAHAHA! Let's talk about birthday parties!

Cue montage of children enjoying birthday parties.

Elmo: Let's go talk to Mr. Noodle! Hey, Mr. Noodle, wrap a present for us! Yay, good job, Mr. Noodle! That's not enough presents, though. Little girl, wrap a present for me! Yay! Little baby, wrap a present for me! Oh, I forgot, babies can't wrap presents! I want to kiss you!

Elmo kisses the baby for a while.

Elmo: How many elephants would it take to blow out the candles on a cake? Oh, they would probably just destroy the whole cake. HAHAHAHA!

Oscar the Grouch: I hate birthdays.

Elmo: Hey, let's check my e-mail! Hey computer!

Computer: Hey, Elmo! Hooray for birthdays!

Elmo: Wow, I love getting e-mails!

Cue a video about a kid and his father making a birthday cake together, followed by a cartoon about birthdays.

Elmo: Let's have a conversation with a birthday cake! Hey cake, do you like being a cake? Let's have a flashback to the day I was born!

Elmo's Mommy: He is so beautiful! His name is Elmo! HAHAHAHAHA!

Elmo: Well, we're just about out of time for today! Bye-bye!

The DVD transfer is a typically clean and colorful affair, conveying this cheerfully-lit production with sharp clarity. The 2.0 stereo gets the job done. Basically, this disc is pretty comparable to every other recent Sesame Street disc. Extras include a 13-minute segment from Sesame Street featuring the birthday party of Baby Bear, some parental tips on how to turn the DVD into a learning experience, and a downloadable workbook.

Personally, I think this particular Sesame Street disc is a bit less useful than many of its predecessors, primarily because the birthday theme makes it something that will probably be viewed only once a year (if that much).

A side note: There is a preview on this DVD for a forthcoming special called Elmo and the Bookaneers (undoubtedly written by William Wallace) starring Tina Fey and Elmo. Yes, you heard me. Tina Fey and Elmo. Just think about that for a minute and let it soak in.

The Verdict

Guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Sesame Street: Elmo And Abby's Birthday Fun a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 72

Perp Profile

Studio: Genius Products
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 47 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Bonus Segment
• Parent Tips
• Workbook

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2009 Clark Douglas; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.