DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 03193

Buy Full Metal Panic: Mission 01 at Amazon

Full Metal Panic: Mission 01

ADV Films // 2002 // 100 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Chief Counsel Rob Lineberger (Retired) // August 13th, 2003

• View Chief Counsel Lineberger's Dossier
• E-mail Chief Counsel Lineberger
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Full Metal Panic? Fumoffu: Full Metal Pandemonium! (Volume One) (published November 10th, 2005), Full Metal Panic: Mission 02 (published April 7th, 2004), Full Metal Panic: Mission 03 (published April 8th, 2004), Full Metal Panic: Mission 04 (published April 14th, 2004), Full Metal Panic: Mission 05 (published April 22nd, 2004), Full Metal Panic: Mission 06 (published April 22nd, 2004), Full Metal Panic: Mission 07 (published April 29th, 2004), Full Metal Panic! Season One (published November 28th, 2010), and Full Metal Panic! The Second Raid: The Complete Series (published December 16th, 2009) are also available.

The Charge

The guy I kinda like is a sergeant.

Opening Statement

To paraphrase Peter Griffin, this show is freakin' sweet. Full Metal Panic is a first class anime that includes the kitchen sink along with everything else. Though not derivative of Neon Genesis Evangelion, Full Metal Panic evokes a similar narcotic urge to watch the next episode. It is as entertaining and multi-layered as Evangelion but more approachable. These first four episodes suggest immediate classic status for Full Metal Panic.

Facts of the Case

Sergeant Sousuke Sagara is a 16 year-old military professional. He cut his teeth amid skirmishes in the Middle East, learning warfare as a part of life. Needless to say, his sense of humor and social skills are not as honed as his keen military instincts. Sousuke is part of MITHRIL, a secretive but advanced paramilitary watchdog.

This unlikely bodyguard is sent to Jindai High School to protect Kaname Chidori. Kaname is a naïve but spirited civilian schoolgirl who might be the target of a KGB kidnapping attempt. While she focuses on homework and the class trip, Sousuke focuses on surreptitious protection of Kaname. Hidden in the wings are the mission commander Capt. Theresa Testarossa and Sgt. Kurz Weber. Theresa mans the surveillance equipment while Kurz pilots a massive robotic tank with cloaking ability.

Needless to say, Sousuke draws unwanted attention, from Kaname in particular. He fits in like a thumbtack among balloons. Despite her ire, Kaname feels a peculiar affinity for the enigmatic Sousuke.

The Evidence

Full Metal Panic does most things right. The things that aren't exactly right are pretty good. When Full Metal Panic presents intrigue, we are treated to deep plots shrouded in tension and mystery. Comedic counterpoints are cleverly set up and generate heartfelt laughter. (They even made the FBI warning funny!) Romance is seamlessly integrated and surprisingly effective. Action scenes are terse and powerful. The whole thing is tied together in a balanced package. Perhaps that explains the widespread appeal; Full Metal Panic contains something for everyone.

Since we're dealing with anime, let's begin with the animation. Full Metal Panic is rendered in precise, fluid detail. The opening battle is artistic and adrenaline charged. Clouds of fire swirl in blossoms of light. Waves of heat distort the foreground. Metal clashes against metal while pristine snow lies undisturbed. Uncloaking tanks, surfacing submarines, and firing missiles are visual treats rendered in liquid 3D.

The sound is up to the visual challenge. Effects, both dramatic and subtle, are smooth and clean. The Japanese version is a solid stereo mix, but the preferable track may be the English 5.1 mix. The English voice cast is well-matched to their Japanese counterparts. What you lose in emotional shading is more than compensated by the richer dynamic effects. In the stereo track bullets fire, while the 5.1 mix has them buzzing overhead.

The characters are sharply drawn and smoothly animated. Eyes and facial features move in emotive naturalism. This verisimilitude, in conjunction with superb voice acting, creates approachable, memorable characters.

Fortunately, the characters aren't just eye candy. They are given distinct personalities and agendas. This is one of Full Metal Panic's strongest aspects: energetic conflicts between characters cross the gender divide. Males will appreciate the highly charged action scenes, including bombs, hijackings, hand-to-hand combat, and panty raids. Females will find solace in the tender arms of romance, caressed by subtle emotional nuance. Even better…shhh, I won't tell anyone, I promise…the guys might appreciate the soft stuff and the gals might dig the action.

Many an anime has contained sexy characters, cool animation, and frantic action, yet failed to connect with audiences in a meaningful way. Full Metal Panic delivers both window dressing and the indefinable chemistry of a compelling story. Though only four episodes are included on this DVD, I want to know more about the characters and their motivations. This series reminds me of why I love anime.

The Rebuttal Witnesses

If there's reason to panic, it is the extras. Though they technically count, I consider DVD covers, posters, and trailers to be promotional items. That leaves sketches, clean credits, and Japanese piracy warnings. I've seen sketches included in many anime DVDs extras, but I simply don't get it. What is so special about sketches of the characters when you can pause any frame of the animation to see the actual characters? The clean credits are nice because you get to see a teensy bit more, but it doesn't raise my pulse rate much. Finally, the Japanese piracy warnings are undoubtedly amusing…if you speak Japanese.

I stated above that Full Metal Panic is more approachable than Neon Genesis Evangelion. This approachability comes at the expense of emotional depth. No one gets deeply philosophical, although the emotions heat up a bit in Episode 4. This breeziness extends to the characters. Though Sousuke's rigid military demeanor makes for some fine comedic moments, it seems implausible. Certain supporting characters are one-dimensional and bland. However, I'm willing to give characterization the benefit of the doubt since this is the genesis of the series.

Closing Statement

I entreat you Mithril, for all that is holy and pure in this world, make more anime like this.

The Verdict

What!? Verdict, schmerdict! Don't bother me, I'm trying to find out what happens to Sousuke and Kaname!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Full Metal Panic: Mission 01 a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 100
Audio: 91
Extras: 36
Acting: 90
Story: 94
Judgment: 94

Perp Profile

Studio: ADV Films
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (Japanese)
Subtitles:
• English
Running Time: 100 Minutes
Release Year: 2002
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genre:
• Anime

Distinguishing Marks

• Reversible Cover
• Fold-Out Poster with Background Information
• Clean Opening and Closing Animations
• Production Sketches
• Japanese Piracy Warnings
• ADV Previews

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2003 Rob Lineberger; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.