DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 07020: Small Claims Court

Buy Gantz: Terminal Dispatch (Volume 4) at Amazon

Gantz: Terminal Dispatch (Volume 4)

ADV Films // 2004 // 50 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Mitchell Hattaway (Retired) // June 16th, 2005

• View Judge Hattaway's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hattaway
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Mitchell Hattaway truly, deeply wants to be summoned by a Gantz, whatever that is.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Gantz: Game Of Death (Volume 1) (published March 24th, 2005), Gantz: Killed Or Be Killed (Volume 2) (published May 5th, 2005), Gantz: Aftershocks (Volume 3) (published May 12th, 2005), Gantz: Process Of Elimination (Volume 5) (published August 25th, 2005), Gantz: Sudden Death (Volume 6) (published October 6th, 2005), Gantz: Fatal Attractions (Volume 7) (published October 27th, 2005), Gantz: Deathwatch (Volume 8) (published October 27th, 2005), Gantz Season 1 Box Set (published March 15th, 2006), and Gantz: The Complete Series (published February 20th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

Second chances.

The Case

I asked for a mission, and for my sins they gave me one. Guess that means it's time for another Gantz review.

This latest volume is pretty much the calm before the storm, as our (anti-)heroes go about their everyday lives, biding their time until the Gantz summons them for another round of wet-works. As you may recall from Volume 3, Kurono and Kishimoto are now living together (which means Kurono is hornier than ever), and Kato has returned to the home of his abusive aunt. The previous volume also introduced a few new characters and began weaving them into the plot. This time around, we learn a bit more about these individuals and see exactly how the Gantz brings them into the fold.

As before, this release contains two episodes from this controversial series; here's the lowdown:

• Episode 7: "We're After You"
Kato continues to be troubled about the news reports concerning his disappearance. At school, he saves one of his friends from being beaten by a band of thugs. The thugs plan to exact revenge on Kato, and they are joined in their efforts by a psychotic homosexual boxer who wants to sexually assault Kato. Kato finds out about the plan, finds the boxer in a school restroom, and beats him within an inch of his life. Meanwhile, Kurono and Kishimoto encounter the old woman Kurono brushed off while waiting for the train in the first episode of the series. The woman once again asks Kurono for directions, which totally freaks him out. Later, Kurono and Kishimoto go to her old home, where she sees her other self. Back in the high rise, the Gantz comes out of hibernation.

• Episode 8: "Uh-oh."
Kishimoto tells Kurono she is no longer concerned about having a doppelganger; in fact, she's glad she no longer has to deal with her domineering mother. Kurono isn't paying attention, as he's too busy staring at her breasts. He loses interest, however, when Kishimoto tells him she's in love with Kato. Speaking of Kato, his little brother cautions him to keep his anger in check and make sure he stays alive. Tetsu (the biker introduced in the previous volume) and his buddies get into a fight with a rival gang and are killed. Ryota (the young boy who was introduced in the previous volume) and his grandmother are killed by a drunk driver. Kurono, in yet another attempt to get laid, gives Kishimoto a massage. He begins feeling her up, but is interrupted when the Gantz pulls them away. After they are teleported to the high rise, Kishimoto throws herself at Kato. Tetsu and his gang are brought to the Gantz's room, as are Ryota and his grandmother. The Gantz has also snatched a former male model and a creepy looking girl everyone else believes is the girl from Ringu. The bikers take an immediate interest in Kishimoto, but Kato prevents them from harming her. Kato attempts to explain to the newcomers where they are and what they are expected to do, but they think he's out of his mind. The Gantz gives its captives their new mission and opens up to reveal their weapons. The bikers go ape over the arsenal, and Kurono freaks when he realizes his combat suit is at home.

I don't think I'm starting to like Gantz, but I am starting to hate it less. Then again, these last few episodes have focused more on the characters' everyday lives, and I find it easier to sit through these quieter episodes than I do the ultra-violent ones. I was happy to see more focus on Kato in these installments, as he's the only somewhat interesting character in the series, and I was once again pleased to note the absence of that damn dog and his damn tongue, although I get the feeling he's coming back.

The technical aspects of this release fall in line with those of the previous three: same very good transfer, same very good audio options. The extras are also similar to those found on the other discs. Along with the standard clean opening and closing sequences and ubiquitous previews, this volume also includes another brief chat with three members of the cast (who once again appear to be having more fun than their audience).

Well, that's all for this go-round. What say we meet back in a few weeks for a look at Volume 5? I'm pretty sure I'll be here.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Gantz: Terminal Dispatch (Volume 4) a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 60

Perp Profile

Studio: ADV Films
Video Formats:
• 1.85:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (Japanese)
Subtitles:
• English
• English
• Ancient Greek
Running Time: 50 Minutes
Release Year: 2004
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Action
• Anime
• Science Fiction

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• None








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2005 Mitchell Hattaway; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.