DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 19075

Buy Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Three (Blu-Ray) at Amazon

Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Three (Blu-Ray)

History Channel // 2009 // 611 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // June 13th, 2010

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson likes to Ice Road Rollerblade. Thong and all!

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Ice Road Truckers Deadliest Roads: Season One (Blu-ray) (published May 28th, 2011), Ice Road Truckers: Season Five (published April 29th, 2012), Ice Road Truckers: On And Off The Ice (published June 12th, 2008), Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Four (Blu-Ray) (published February 27th, 2011), Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season One (published December 23rd, 2007), Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Three (published January 4th, 2010), Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Two (published December 10th, 2008), and Ice Road Truckers: The Most Dangerous Episodes (published June 11th, 2009) are also available.

The Charge

A job to die for.

Opening Statement

On the frozen wastelands of northern Alaska, a group of truckers drive huge, loaded-up rigs down pants-wettingly lethal icy roads.

Facts of the Case

Season Three documents the continuing adventures of a select group of Ice Road Truckers, including veterans Hugh Rowland and Alex Debogorski, a rookie driver named Tim Freeman, and the show's first female trucker, Lisa Kelly. The Goal: to navigate their monster rigs to Prudhoe Bay and back. Prudhoe Bay is located 250 miles north of the Arctic Circle and contains a major oil field. To deliver supplies, our heroes will have to negotiate a ridiculously dangerous collection of icy routes, keep clear of the huge drop-offs, and avoid caribou.

The Evidence

I'm not one for the reality genre, but I can get behind this show. History's 10-episode season following the hazards of the Alaska trucker is engaging stuff. While there's never much doubt over the survival of our drivers—despite the show's best efforts to drum up that tension—Ice Road Truckers succeeds because it provides insights into a job that most people a) don't know anything about, and b) would poop their pants if they had to give it a try.

I probably fall into that latter category. Even if I'm not going to see flaming truck wreckage on my TV screen, that still doesn't make the Ice Road Trucking gig any less harrowing. I don't fear for the drivers' lives, but watching the kind of insanity they have to maneuver their loads around—picturing myself in that driver's seat—yikes, that's when the tension strikes. These fellas (and lady) are pros and it's a treat to see them in action.

However, Ice Road Truckers isn't a series that lends itself to marathon viewing. I could see how the show might grow tedious for people, but taken in small doses it's all good. Even though it's pretty much just dudes driving trucks on slippery roads, you're still bound to see something cool and new. Speaking of which, Season Three contains one of my favorite TV moments ever: the Alaska avalanche containment crew closes off the street and uses a vintage piece of artillery from the Korean War to fire shells into the mountains and detonate avalanches. So awesome…

If the prospect of watching this big rig bonanza is at all appealing, do yourself a solid and snag the Blu-ray. Ice Road Truckers was built for high-definition and the sexy coat of paint the series flaunts in this three-disc release should catch more than a few glances. Transferred in a sleek 1.78:1 1080p HD transfer, the snow-punished, eye-achingly gorgeous vistas of Alaska are the big winners in the visual upgrade; the detailing is crisp and the colors are brilliant. The visual fidelity is so good, down-shifting to standard-def—on DVD or non-HD broadcast—would be dramatic, and not in a good way. Supporting the outstanding PQ is an adequate 2.0 uncompressed DTS-HA Master Audio track. A half-hour's worth of non-HD bonus footage rounds out the set.

Closing Statement

These Truckers deliver a must-see in high-definition.

The Verdict

Not Guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Ice Road Truckers: The Complete Season Three (Blu-Ray) a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 95
Audio: 90
Extras: 75
Story: 85
Judgment: 84

Perp Profile

Studio: History Channel
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Non-Anamorphic (1080p)
Audio Formats:
• DTS HD 2.0 Master Audio (English)
Subtitles:
• English
Running Time: 611 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Blu-ray
• Reality TV
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Bonus Footage

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Website








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2010 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.