DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 08144

Buy Jackass: Volume 1 at Amazon

Jackass: Volume 1

Paramount // 2000 // 120 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // December 6th, 2005

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson was compelled to jump off his roof and into a tub of rhino dung after watching this DVD.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Jackass: Volumes 2 And 3 (published December 10th, 2002), Jackass 2.5 (published December 24th, 2007), Jackass Number Two: Unrated Edition (published January 4th, 2007), Jackass: The Box Set (published December 6th, 2005), Jackass: The Lost Tapes (published October 24th, 2009), Jackass: The Movie (published March 25th, 2003), and Jackass: The Movie: Unrated Special Collector's Edition (published September 5th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Don't try this at home.

Opening Statement

After sorting out whatever mysterious legal snafu had held this disc up, MTV has finally released the first volume of its popular series Jackass, or as I like to call it, The Best Reason for Government Enforced Sterility Programs.

Facts of the Case

So, we got these guys, and they act like morons while their friends film them.

What, you really want more? Fine. Jackass debuted on MTV in 2000, and quickly became on the network's most controversial, and heavily-viewed, shows. The show set loose a gang of friends—mostly from the world of skateboarding—to document their antics.

Actually, "antics" sounds playful. What these numbnuts do is nothing short of self-immolation—but damn if it's not funny. In case you're one of the few sentient organisms with little exposure to this show, here's how it works: episodes are comprised of various stunts and skits, some a tad more intricate than others, most just the guys throwing themselves off of shopping carts or punching each in the side of the heads. And you can bet your bottom dollar that at one point someone will be running around in his underwear.

This final volume, so enigmatically missing, has finally been unearthed, so you Jackass completists can finally enjoy such classic moments of human achievement as Steve-O swan-diving into elephant poop, the BMX joust, and Santa Claus's colonic.

The Evidence

Jackass is the epitome of what a guilty pleasure is. For me, I certainly took much pleasure in watching this assemblage of ass-clowns relentlessly make fools of themselves, though I couldn't escape the strong feeling of guilt—guilt from the support I was giving to fellow humans defecating on the dignity of our species.

Speaking of defecation, has there ever been a television show so transfixed on the comic value of excrement than Jackass?!? I submit that there has not. You've got Johnny Knoxville's career-making upside-down-port-a-potty-dump, Steve O's dung leaps, and Ryan Dunn's sewage-treatment swimming. That last one I can't even watch.

But it's not just poop that's on display here. You'll get classic bits like:

• Bam's relentless harassment of his father
• Preston and Wee Man's underwear chase sequences
• The defective hearse
• The Daddy and Baby series
• Johnny Knoxville's around-the-town erection
• The goldfish gag
• Eggnog drinking contest
• Egg eating contest (both puke-fodder)
• Knoxville getting his butt kicked by a pro boxer
• Road skiing
• Prostitute boat-racing
• Santa vs. Chicken
• Johnny Knoxville sumo-wrestling
• Dunn diving in raw fish
• Radio-controlled skunk
• Street fishing (hilarious—with Steve-O roping in suckers with a buck on a fishing hook)
• Fountain diving
• Butt-cheek stapling
…and much more!

What the secret is behind the delay of this volume, I'm not sure; though it wouldn't be a stretch to speculate it has something to do with ownership rights. Regardless, with this disc your Jackass experience is now complete.

The only special feature is a rowdy commentary track by the cast. It's often difficult to follow and there was likely some controlled substances involved, but the zoo-like demeanor is appropriate for the disc.

Oh, and props to the menu system, which divides the content into separate stunts, complete with titles and thumbnails. There are over 100 bits, and this setup makes it easy to skip to your favorite moment of complete retardedness.

Closing Statement

As easy as it is to harangue these guys, I can't help but laugh at their stupid asses.

The Verdict

Not guilty. (Because a guilty ruling will render me a hypocrite.)

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Jackass: Volume 1 a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 80
Audio: 80
Extras: 80
Acting: 80
Story: 85
Judgment: 84

Perp Profile

Studio: Paramount
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 120 Minutes
Release Year: 2000
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Comedy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Cast and Crew Commentary

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2005 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.