DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 02457

Buy Jackass: Volumes 2 And 3 at Amazon

Jackass: Volumes 2 And 3

Paramount // 2002 // 164 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // December 10th, 2002

• View Judge Naugle's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Naugle
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Jackass: Volume 1 (published December 6th, 2005), Jackass 2.5 (published December 24th, 2007), Jackass Number Two: Unrated Edition (published January 4th, 2007), Jackass: The Box Set (published December 6th, 2005), Jackass: The Lost Tapes (published October 24th, 2009), Jackass: The Movie (published March 25th, 2003), and Jackass: The Movie: Unrated Special Collector's Edition (published September 5th, 2006) are also available.

The Charge

Warning: This video features stunts performed either by professionals or under the supervision of professionals. Accordingly, MTV and the producers must insist that no one attempt to recreate or reenact any stunt or activity performed on this show.

Opening Statement

In its opening weekend Jackass: The Movie raked in millions of dollars and shot to the number one box office position. In other news, biblical scholars also predicted the coming of Armageddon on that very same weekend. Coincidence? Maybe, but the fact remains that suddenly Jackass has become a household name and Johnny Knoxville a strange yet undeniable star. For those of you living under a rock, Jackass is a TV program that shows young people doing bodily harm to both themselves and their friends. Just in time for the holidays is Jackass: Volume Two and Jackass: Volume Three, released by MTV through Paramount Home Entertainment and considered the perfect stocking stuffer for grandma.

Facts of the Case

Come along and join in on the wacky adventures of Johnny Knoxville, "Wee-Man," Steve-O, Bam, and a host of other idiots who have nothing better to do with their time but gargle leeches, hump midgets, and ride their dirt bikes into sewer ravaged riverbeds.

It's all in the name of fun. What a bunch-a Jackasses.

The Evidence

When I was a kid I used to enjoy tumbling down a hill. My brother and I would pretend fight, I'd be knocked down, and then I'd roll down the hill while bumping against tiny rocks and other imperfections peppering the slide. This, or course, is small potatoes compared to the antics of Johnny Knoxville (who has also been featured in such films as Big Trouble, Deuces Wild, and Men In Black II) and his unbelievably unique, deranged, stupid, moronic, sadistic, and demented friends.

I don't need to tell you that we're living in an age of reality TV. Apparently the theory in Hollywood is when the sitcom well runs dry, turn to real people and real situations. Even shows like Law & Order are showing real life crime cases in lieu of dramatic reenactments. The Tom Green Show, Fear Factor, The Bachelor, Survivor…all have only one goal in mind: show the best and (more likely) worst of the American public. Whether it be rap star Coolio sticking his head into a mound of scorpions, one hundred women vying for the attentions of one man, or Tom Green shoving his head into a dead animal carcass, reality TV is seemingly here to stay—and completely off the deep end. You see, Americans don't have any desire to see good folks interacting nicely on a small scale. No, we want the down and dirty, sloppy mess that is humanity. And with MTV's Jackass, we get it in large doses.

The material included on these discs ranges from obscene (one guy running around in just a G-string pretending to be a statue) to gross (a man snorting a live earthworm was especially inspiring) to downright stupid (why in the name of all that's holy would anyone go surfing on a ski hill in the middle of winter in only his underpants?) I will admit that I like to watch things that are out of the ordinary or just plain bizarre; though I know this analogy has been used dozens of times, it still holds true—Jackass is like watching a car wreck on the side of the interstate. It's messy, and horrible, and yet I'll be damned if I can't keep my eyes off it.

Here is a short list of what I liked, what I didn't like, and what made me unbearably nauseous:

Funny: a skit where a man has diarrhea, goes into a port-o-potty, has uncontrollable bowel movements, then leaves as a short midget; watching Johnny Knoxville get hit in the crotch (wearing a sports cup) with a sledgehammer; Steve-O getting his butt pierced together at a local tattoo parlor; a man dressed as a giant bunny getting his hand caught in a subway door; Johnny and his friends sitting in a circle and tossing a racquet ball at each other's exposed genitals; waking various folks up by throwing batches of flour on their faces; digging a hole in a yard, covering it up with dirt, and then watching a man in a lawnmower fall in.

Not So Funny: Anything that had to do with rolling people down a hill in a pipe, on ice blocks, or on a ladder with skis—there are only so many times you can watch a person fall, then it gets blandly repetitive; the two guys in the fat suits bouncing around a hotel room bed (boooooooring); Johnny and a friend brawling in a sporting goods store with boxing gloves; Steve-O sticking his face on a jellyfish, then pouring urine on it to sooth the sting.

Just Plain Gross: Johnny Knoxville sticking his hand up a cow's butt; Johnny having leeches stuck to his face, then putting a few in his mouth just for fun; a man sucking up a mosquito off of the camera lens just for the hell of it; Dave England slapping chocolate pudding into a diaper, putting it in the trash, then pretending to be homeless and eating the pudding out of the diaper; a man eating raw onions, eggs, and other various foods, then regurgitating them into a bowl—he then proceeds to cook this mess in a pan and eats it once more (this was the only segment I had to fast forward through as it literally made me sick to my stomach).

And so it goes with Jackass: Volume Two and Jackass: Volume Three. If you like this kind of stuff, then I'm already preaching to the converted. If most of what I just wrote sounds as enjoyable as having your nipples cut off with a dull butter knife, stay as far away from this set as possible.

Both Jackass Volume Two and Jackass Volume Three are presented in 1.33:1 full frame. All of these skits were shot on video, so the transfer retains a very rough, amateurish feel. There's not a whole lot else to say about these pictures except that they're decent for their medium and sport no major imperfections (limited to inherent defects with videotape). Anyway, do you really need to see a guy get hit in the nads in shining anamorphic widescreen? I think not.

The soundtracks are presented in Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround in English. Much like the video portions of the discs, each soundtrack is apt if very, very mediocre. The sound is derived from a video source, and as such sports an ample amount of drop out, inconsistency, and hiss. However, the dialogue (much of it bleeped out due to the TV censors) on both mixes is easily heard and apt for the films they're supporting. No alternate soundtracks or subtitles are available on either disc.

Thankfully, each disc is light on supplemental materials. Included on each DVD are some cast biographies (can you believe some of these guys found someone to marry them??!?), a rather pointless photo gallery, and a trivia game that allows the viewer to answer several questions about the show (and if you get it wrong, you're literally branded a "jackass").

Closing Statement

If you're a fan of the show I don't need to tell you to pick up these discs—you've already done so, and most likely you've done it with your butt cheeks. Paramount's work on each of these DVDs is fitting for the material.

The Verdict

Jackass: Volume Two and Volume Three are found…well, they're just found disgusting, really. Case dismissed.

FYI: For those of you searching for "Jackass: Volume One," your hunt is in vain—the creators of these DVDs thought it would be hysterical if they just titled "Volume One" as "Volume Two." Har-har-har.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Jackass: Volumes 2 And 3 a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 70
Audio: 72
Extras: 75
Judgment: 75

Perp Profile

Studio: Paramount
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 164 Minutes
Release Year: 2002
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Comedy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Cast Bios
• Trivia Game
• Photo Gallery

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2002 Patrick Naugle; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.