DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 08163: Small Claims Court

Buy LeapFrog: Learn To Read At The Storybook Factory at Amazon

LeapFrog: Learn To Read At The Storybook Factory

Warner Bros. // 2005 // 35 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // December 8th, 2005

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson thought this learn-to-read program was okay, but felt the scene where Leap Frog gets stabbed was out of place.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of LeapFrog: Learning Set, Volume 2 (published December 5th, 2010), Leap Frog: Math Circus (published January 21st, 2005), LeapFrog: Numberland (published February 26th, 2012), LeapFrog: Phonics Farm (published November 20th, 2011), LeapFrog: Sing and Learn with Us! (published September 4th, 2011), Leap Frog: Talking Words Factory 2: Code Word Caper (published January 21st, 2005), and LeapFrog: Talking Words Factory (published June 18th, 2009) are also available.

The Charge

I read good.

The Case

I got this DVD to review. I got it. It was given to me to review. It is a DVD that will teach me reading. I got it to review. I will now review it. And write about it. It is called Learn to Read at the Storybook Factory. I like that title. I want to learn to read. Yay!

The DVD stars Leap Frog. He is a frog. His name is Leap. That is ironic. Because frogs leap. Leap has friends. Leap and his friends want to act out a play. The play is "The Three Little Pigs." Leap's pal Tad is going to narrate the play. But Tad is worried. Tad sucks at reading.

So Leap and Tad and the rest of the friends go to the Storybook Factory. The Storybook Factory is actually a factory that builds storybooks. It is run by Professor Quigley. I don't know what animal he is. He looks like a weasel. Or maybe a ferret. Whatever he is I'm surprised he didn't eat Tad. He looks like the kind of animal that would eat frogs.

Professor Quigley helps Tad learn to read. He goes through the story of "The Three Little Pigs." It is a good story. It is about these pigs. There are three of them. They're little. The End.

Professor Quigley and Tad read through the story. The words of the story are on-screen for you to follow. This was helpful to me. It helped me read. The words are highlighted as they are read. That helps me. It is supposed to help kids know how to speak the words and recognize their sounds.

The discs talks about the skills it teaches. These skills are: love of reading, chunking, matching written words with spoken words, punctuation, story comprehension, inflection, and understanding character and plot. Those are some big words. Mommy and daddy will know what that means. What the #%$& does "chunking" mean?!?

This DVD is for young kids from ages 3 to 6. The kids should like the story. The characters are colorful. The animation is nice to look at. I don't know if it is more interesting than eating boogers. I don't know if anything is more interesting than eating boogers for little kids.

There are two extras on this DVD. One is a sing-along. The other is read-along. The read-along goes through the story of "The Three Little Pigs." You can have it read to you or read it yourself. This is a helpful extra for parents who don't give a crap.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give LeapFrog: Learn To Read At The Storybook Factory a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 90

Perp Profile

Studio: Warner Bros.
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 35 Minutes
Release Year: 2005
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation

Distinguishing Marks

• Read-Along
• Sing-Along

Accomplices

• Leap Frog








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2005 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.