DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 13768: Small Claims Court

Buy the DVD at Wal*Mart / Sam's Club

Sesame Street: Love The Earth!

Genius Products // 2008 // 45 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Clark Douglas // June 4th, 2008

• View Judge Douglas's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Douglas
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




• Buy the DVD at Wal*Mart / Sam's Club

 

All Rise...

Judge Clark Douglas thinks that Elmo and Zoe are the Bonnie and Clyde of Y7 television.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Sesame Street: 20 Years And Still Counting (published September 4th, 2010), Sesame Street: Abby In Wonderland (published March 3rd, 2010), Sesame Street: Being Green (published April 6th, 2009), Sesame Street: Bert And Ernie's Great Adventures (published May 8th, 2010), Sesame Street: Bert And Ernie's Word Play (published April 9th, 2010), Sesame Street: Bye-Bye, Pacifier! (published January 1st, 2012), Sesame Street: C Is For Cookie Monster (published November 3rd, 2010), Sesame Street: Dinosaurs! (published May 26th, 2008), Sesame Street: Elmo And Abby's Birthday Fun (published June 10th, 2009), Sesame Street: Elmo's Shape Adventure (published October 16th, 2011), Sesame Street: Elmo's Travel Songs And Games (published May 8th, 2011), Sesame Street: Firefly Fun And Buggy Buddies (published June 1st, 2010), Sesame Street: Learning Letters With Elmo (published September 4th, 2011), Sesame Street: P Is For Princess (published August 11th, 2010), Sesame Street: Preschool Is Cool! ABCs with Elmo (published July 6th, 2010), Sesame Street Spoofs! Volumes 1 and 2 (published July 10th, 2011), Sesame Street: The Best Of Elmo 2 (published May 19th, 2010), and Sesame Street: Wild Words And Outdoor Adventures (published April 17th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

Elmo: Do you know why dogs love trees?
Papa Bear: I'm afraid to ask.
Elmo: Because the bark is "ruff"! Hahahahahahaha!

The Case

He is a fearsome beast with the capability of destroying a children's television show. Subtly using the secret weapon of Unbearable Cuteness, he has infiltrated our popular culture. His mission: to infiltrate the hearts and minds of our children. Who knows what he plans to do from there? Perhaps he wants to corrupt them and turn them into an army of Unbearably Cute soldiers. Perhaps he wants to teach them how to take over the world…or maybe even the universe. For now, he is content to simply teach them the difference between "Up" and "Down," lulling parents into a distracted sleep before he makes his diabolical move. Who is this terrifying creature? He's a small, furry red thing known as "Elmo." Though there is no proof for my accusations, it's obvious that Elmo is one tough guy. Ever since he moved into the formerly nice neighborhood known as "Sesame Street," former vigilantes such as Cookie Monster, The Count, and Oscar the Grouch have been turned into meek and mild do-gooders. Elmo's mind control powers must be overwhelming.

With that warning established, I'll continue with this DVD review. We meet up with my fuzzy nemesis out in the middle of the woods, where Elmo is hanging out with some friends. His gal pal Zoe is there, along with the cute Baby Bear (who sounds suspiciously like Junior Gorg) and the wise Papa Bear. They meet up with Ranger Squirrel, who informs them that they should never litter. Ranger Squirrel's inspiring speech is enough to make Baby Bear promise to never, ever litter again. Well done, Ranger Squirrel. But wait, that's not all he has to say. When the gang is trying to throw trash away, Ranger Squirrel stops them and teaches them the value of recycling. Apparently not all trash is just trash. Well done again, Ranger Squirrel.

He won't quit, though. Ranger Squirrel comes back to tell our protagonists that there are two sides on a sheet of paper, and they can draw on both sides instead of one. That's nice, but a bit obvious, Ranger Squirrel. Elmo takes a drink of water from a fountain, and then decides to just keep pressing the button. "Elmo loves to watch water go down the drain…hahahahaha!" Sure enough, Ranger Squirrel shows up again, to inform Elmo that this is a bad thing. We know, pal. Give it a rest. Meanwhile, the gang is also searching for the mysterious Blue-Feathered Swallowing Swallow. Will they be able to find it? I'll never tell.

We break away from the puppets on a regular basis to spend time with ordinary human beings. A nice lady named Ranger Roseanne hangs out with a group of children and teaches them a little bit about all the different animals that live inside a national park. A young girl shows us how she recycles newspapers…that can later be turned into cool comic books! Alan Moore thanks you, young lady. A montage of footage from around the world shows people from many different cultures finding ways to recycle. A country song called "Don't Waste Water" accompanies a montage of water-related images. The loveable Big Bird makes a cameo appearance to sing to some children, telling them to be kind to animals. Then a lady sings to some animals, informing them that "We Are All Earthlings." She sings this while sitting next to lions and crocodiles, and I would encourage youngsters to stay at a safe distance while singing this tune to such fellow earthlings.

Some enjoyable animated sequences add some additional color to the proceedings. I particularly enjoyed a song from a soda bottle who has an identity crisis and undergoes recycling surgery in order to become a wild and crazy cookie jar. Another fun sequence shows us the journey that mayonnaise jars take from the factory to a house. Once the mayonnaise is gone, people use the jars for all kinds of cool things.

Picture quality is fine, if nothing spectacular. It looks more or less the same as it would on television. The simple 2.0 stereo sound is adequate for this simple little special. There are no extras of any sort on the disc, unless you count previews for other Sesame Street products.

While watching this only reminds me of how far Sesame Street has fallen since the passing of Jim Henson, it's perfectly pleasant and harmless on its own terms. I mean, how much sweeter can you get than a film that ends with a montage of children hugging trees? It's so sweet that it's almost suspicious…I don't know what your game is, Elmo, but I'm watching you. Meanwhile, I have no damning evidence, so not guilty. Court is adjourned.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Sesame Street: Love The Earth! a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 75

Perp Profile

Studio: Genius Products
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 45 Minutes
Release Year: 2008
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb: Sesame Street








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2008 Clark Douglas; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.