DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 14311: Small Claims Court

Buy The Backyardigans: Mighty Match-Up! at Amazon

The Backyardigans: Mighty Match-Up!

Nickelodeon // 2008 // 0 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Roy Hrab (Retired) // August 20th, 2008

• View Judge Hrab's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hrab
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Roy Hrab is using his imagination to pretend he never watched this show or wrote this review.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of The Backyardigans: Cave Party (published March 7th, 2006), The Backyardigans: High Flying Adventures! (published May 28th, 2008), The Backyardigans: It's Great To Be A Ghost (published May 10th, 2006), The Backyardigans: Operation Elephant Drop (published July 18th, 2010), The Backyardigans: Surf's Up! (published May 30th, 2006), The Backyardigans: The Snow Fort (published January 10th, 2006), and The Backyardigans: Christmas With The Backyardigans (published December 12th, 2010) are also available.

The Charge

"Together in the backyard again, in the place where we belong, where we'll probably sing a song, and we'll maybe dance along."

The Case

Well, here we go again with another installment of the The Backyardigans from Nickelodeon. Who are these life forms? They are Pablo (a blue penguin), Tyrone (an orange moose), Uniqua (a pink, polka-dot creature of unique origin), Austin (a purple kangaroo), and Tasha (a yellow hippopotamus). The five use their imagination to create adventures in their backyards and homes. In this land of make believe the members of the group assume different professions and personalities, traveling across the globe and through time. Each adventure is filled with song and dance numbers.

The Backyardigans: Mighty Match-Up! features four episodes from Season 3 of the series:
• "Match On Mt. Olympus:" Playing basketball and singing songs with a samba beat, Pablo and Tyrone trek up Mount Olympus to persuade the Greek Goddess of Weather (Tasha) to halt a rainstorm.
• "The Great Dolphin Race:" Giving a nod to Seabiscuit, Uniqua challenges Tyrone to a dolphin race, hoping she can her ride her dolphin, Sea Squirt, to victory.
• "Ranch Hands From Outer Space:" This episode is just bizarre. Tasha is a rancher and needs help with chores. When aliens Zablo (Pablo, get it? So funny!) and Zuniqua (Uniqua! Again, pure hilarity!) arrive and require pancakes to fuel their spaceship, she gets more help than she bargained for. Also, for some reason unknown, the songs are scored to Italian pop of the 1960s.
• "Caveman's Best Friend: " Young kids will not recognize this episode's references to The Flintstones, but adults will see them immediately. Austin is a caveman in the prehistoric city of "Rockville," singing soul music as he tries to track down his brand new pet dinosaur that has runaway.

The video and audio are flawless. The animation is bright and detailed. The audio delivers loud and clear sound. The only extras are a couple of music videos.

Does my judgment really matter? This is a series that features dancing and singing animated animals. It is inoffensive, but not particularly educational. And, as I have noted in my previous review of The Backyardigans, adults will grow weary (or worse) of the repetitive nature of the show quickly (and I know that I felt like kicking in my television on more than one occasion). However, adults shouldn't be watching this show; youngsters are the target audience and they love this stuff. So, get ready to pony up some money, unless you have managed to raise kids that prefer to play outside, read, or engage in other more productive activities.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give The Backyardigans: Mighty Match-Up! a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 75

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 0 Minutes
Release Year: 2008
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• "Chicken-Itza Pizza" Music Video
• "Amazing Inventors" Music Video

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2008 Roy Hrab; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.