DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 23761

Buy One Tree Hill: The Complete Ninth And Final Season at Amazon

One Tree Hill: The Complete Ninth And Final Season

Warner Bros. // 2011 // 555 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Dawn Hunt // May 2nd, 2012

• View Judge Hunt's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hunt
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Dawn Hunt wonders what the weather would be like if we had nine seasons.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of One Tree Hill: The Complete First Season (published July 6th, 2005), One Tree Hill: The Complete Second Season (published February 1st, 2006), One Tree Hill: The Complete Third Season (published October 11th, 2006), One Tree Hill: The Complete Fourth Season (published March 19th, 2008), One Tree Hill: The Complete Fifth Season (published September 11th, 2008), One Tree Hill: The Complete Sixth Season (published August 31st, 2009), One Tree Hill: The Complete Seventh Season (published September 15th, 2010), and One Tree Hill: The Complete Eighth Season (published January 25th, 2012) are also available.

The Charge

"One Tree Hill. One last time."

Opening Statement

The speed with which this season hit DVD is quite impressive. One Tree Hill's finale aired only a couple weeks before the ninth and final season was released. Was it done to gratify rabid fans, or out of concern that the show would be out of sight and out of mind? Either way, there were a few story lines I've not seen dealt with before, and they hooked me enough to wish there were more episodes. So kudos to One Tree Hill for that.

Facts of the Case

To appease the fan base, The CW decided to grant One Tree Hill an abbreviated ninth season. Even though Season Eight felt like the end, the writers struggled to craft stories that would carry these characters through thirteen additional episodes.

The Evidence

Since many people may still be catching up with this season, I'm going to avoid discussing anything spoilerish. However, I will say my biggest problem with One Tree Hill is its lack of consistency. For half of the cast, it's as if the writers felt they had to have the characters involved, relegating them to rather juvenile stories. The rest wind up being gifted with plot lines that carry the season.

I fully understand and appreciate the need to build drama and balance it with humor, but Season Nine feels too much like One Tree Hill is catering to different audiences. On the one hand, we have adult stories that serve to not only reflect on who these characters are, but point to where they might go in life. On the other hand, we have stories you'd find on any teen drama. After nine seasons, these teenagers have long since grown up, so why continue to showcase young people problems? Because your audience might have some teens in it?! This was a missed opportunity to really cement a cast of adult characters.

Presented in standard definition 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen with a Dolby 5.1 Surround mix, the video and audio are just as you would expect from a current network series. The problems with this set are due to the compression, rather than the source material. With only thirteen episodes, why cram five episodes to a disc and risk any type of loss? Was bumping up the set from three to four discs really so cost prohibitive?

The bonus features are nice, but not packed to the gills. I suspect there'll be a complete series set at some point, with all the bells and whistles a devoted fan could want. Here we get a lone commentary track, gag reel, some deleted scenes, and a couple of featurettes, one of which is an in-depth Q&A session with the cast.

Closing Statement

I'm all for letting a series wrap on its own terms. The One Tree Hill gang owes this ninth season to their fans, so I hope this release makes them happy.

The Verdict

Not Guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give One Tree Hill: The Complete Ninth And Final Season a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• Tortilla Soup
• Wedding In White
• That Evening Sun
• Warm Springs

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 90
Audio: 90
Extras: 80
Acting: 90
Story: 75
Judgment: 79

Perp Profile

Studio: Warner Bros.
Video Formats:
• 1.78:1 Anamorphic
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
• French
• Spanish
Running Time: 555 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Drama
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Commentary
• Deleted Scenes
• Featurettes
• Gag Reel

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2012 Dawn Hunt; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.