DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 21763: Small Claims Court

Buy Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box at Amazon

Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box

Nickelodeon // 2011 // 288 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // July 12th, 2011

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

From now on, you can be assured that Judge David Johnson has a renewed commitment not to bite his friends.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Yo Gabba Gabba! Birthday Boogie! (published February 1st, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus (published June 19th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Clubhouse (published June 14th, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor! (published January 16th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Meet My Family (published October 20th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Makes Me Move! (published August 21st, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! New Friends (published April 6th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Super Spies (published April 28th, 2012), and Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch (published October 20th, 2008) are also available.

The Charge

The Super Music Friend Show is on!

The Case

For parents of children that need to mainline Yo Gabba Gabba!, Nickelodeon has made life a bit easier with this three-disc collection of the monster hit kids show. Party in a Box delivers 288 minutes worth of DJ Lance Rock, Muno, Plex, Toodee and Brobee and if you don't have the "Friends" song memorized by now, just wait: this release will ensure that your nights are besieged by the tune running through your head forevermore.

Here's what's in the box:

The Dancey Dance Bunch!
• "Friends"
• "Eat"
• "Dance"
• "Happy"

Birthday Boogie!
• "Birthday"
• "Dress-Up"
• "Talent"
• "Ride"

Clubhouse
• "Clubhouse"
• "Adventure"
• "Summer"
• "Animals"

As is the game-plan, each disc features the episode of the same name and three other shows that are tenuously related.

But really, it doesn't matter; if you're at all familiar with the workings of Yo Gabba Gabba!—my favorite toddler-centric show by the way—the themes are consistent. DJ Lance wants to get your rugrats up and dancing, with any lessons being taught (e.g., eating well, not biting your friends, using your imagination) woven into catchy song and dance routines. It's a great set-up and a presentation that my one-year-old absolutely adores.

If you didn't buy any of these discs when they were released individually, and you have little porkers lumbering around the house that can do for a bit of gross motor skill, I wholeheartedly recommend scoring this Party in a Box. The sleepless nights due to incessant replaying of "Don't Give Up!" in your mind are a small price to pay for the emotional well-being of your child.

Standard-issue Nick release: full frame, 2.0 stereo, no extras.

The Verdict

Not Guilty. Do the Plex!!!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 80

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (CC)
Running Time: 288 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Concerts and Musicals
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2011 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.