DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 07494: Small Claims Court

Buy Spongebob Squarepants: Fear Of A Krabby Patty at Amazon

Spongebob Squarepants: Fear Of A Krabby Patty

Paramount // 2005 // 88 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Patrick Naugle // August 31st, 2005

• View Judge Naugle's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Naugle
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Patrick Naugle has square pants, too, but we here at DVD Verdict try not to mention it because it hurts his feelings.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 1 (published December 12th, 2007), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete First Season (published November 10th, 2003), Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 2 (published November 27th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: The Complete Third Season (published February 8th, 2006), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete Seventh Season (published December 11th, 2011), SpongeBob Squarepants: 10 Happiest Moments (published September 19th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Friend Or Foe? (published August 29th, 2007), Spongebob Squarepants: Home Sweet Pineapple (published January 19th, 2005), SpongeBob SquarePants: Legends of Bikini Bottom (published December 12th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Nautical Nonsense / Sponge Buddies (published March 19th, 2002), Spongebob Squarepants: Sponge For Hire (published February 9th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob Vs. The Big One (published March 16th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob's Pest Of The West (published April 25th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongicus (published April 9th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: The Great Patty Caper (published March 13th, 2011), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Seaside Capers (published March 13th, 2004), Spongebob Squarepants: To Love A Patty (published February 6th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: To Squarepants Or Not To Squarepants (published July 27th, 2009), SpongeBob Squarepants: Triton's Revenge (published September 11th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Truth Or Square (published November 20th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Where's Gary? (published December 14th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Who Bob What Pants? (published November 13th, 2008), and Spongebob's Runaway Roadtrip (published September 25th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

High seas hijinks with everyone's favorite absorbent hero!

The Case

SpongeBob SquarePants is at it again in eight nautically nutty adventures featuring his best starfish friend Patrick, the grumpy and often molting Mr. Krabs, the anal-retentive Squidward, and a host of other underwater goofballs just as wacky as SpongeBob. Included on this disc are the following episodes (as described on the DVD):

• "Fear of a Krabby Patty"
Plankton attempts another Krabby Patty Formula theft. And this one might just be what the doctor ordered!

• "Shell of a Man"
Mr. Krabs has a reunion to go to, but he's molted. So he disguises SpongeBob as himself and sends him instead.

• "Arrgh!"
Mr. Krabs convinces SpongeBob and Patrick to join him on a treasure hunt.

• "Neptune's Spatula"
SpongeBob pulls a mythical spatula from a vat of ancient grease, giving him claim to the title of "World's Greatest Fry Cook."

• "One Krab's Trash"
Mr. Krabs sells SpongeBob a novelty hat for $10, only to find out it's a priceless collectable.

• "Mermaidman and Barnicleboy V"
When Barnacleboy turns evil, Mermaidman turns to Patrick, Sandy, Squidward, and SpongeBob for help.

• "Karate Choppers"
SpongeBob and Sandy's constant karate sparring gets in the way of the Krusty Krab, threatening SpongeBob's job!

• "I'm Your Biggest Fanatic"
SpongeBob tries to join an exclusive jellyfish club.

I will not claim to be a SpongeBob SquarePants aficionado. In fact, I can safely boast that before watching SpongeBob SquarePants: Fear of a Krabby Patty, I didn't have a clue what the show was about. Oh sure, I knew it had something to do with a yellow sponge-like character with buck teeth the size of Chiclets—multiple rows of bed sheets, bath toys, toothbrushes, video games, DVDs, boxer shorts, soap holders, and shower curtains sporting the character's image at Bed, Bath & Beyond told me that. Otherwise, I was in the dark.

Friends, I am in the dark no more! I now know who these characters are over whom children and adults drool! And frankly, I don't get it. After watching these cartoon shorts I don't really understand how the show is discernible from the many others running on Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network. Is it humorous? Sure, in a few spots, but no more and no less than any other tyke programming on television these days (if you really want some funny animated entertainment, pick up Cartoon Network's irreverent Aqua Teen Hunger Force on DVD).

Some of the cartoons made me smile. One involving SpongeBob pulling a magic spatula from an ancient vat of grease was amusing—especially after he challenged a magic underwater God to a burger creating contest. Others just showcase SpongeBob and Patrick's witty banter, which I presume is funnier to ten-year-old children than nearly thirty-year-old men. However, I have to admit that SpongeBob's laugh—something that I've heard in dreams involving evil clowns on a bender of helium—is the stuff nightmares are made of.

Of all the characters, I enjoyed Mr. Krabs the most (voiced to perfection by actor Clancy Brown, The Shawshank Redemption). Brown delivers a goofy and abstract personality that fits the salty lobster perfectly. Other supporting characters on the show—including a slightly dorky starfish named Patrick (voiced by Coach star Bill Fagerbakke)—make the show better than it ought to be. Kids will most certainly get a kick out of these episodes, as will adults who like their humor with a dose of the bizarre.

Each episode on SpongeBob SquarePants: Fear of a Krabby Patty is presented in 1.33:1 full frame, the show's original aspect ratio. The animation on the show is mediocre at best, and these transfers show every imperfection and piece of grain on the animation cels. That said, overall, these transfers are adequate for a Saturday morning TV show—in other words, your kids won't know the difference.

The soundtrack for each episode is presented in Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo. Much like the video transfer, there isn't a heck of a lot exciting in these mixes—each is very front heavy without any major hiss or distortion in the mix. No alternate soundtracks or subtitles are included on this disc.

Extra features are slim. Included on this disc are a few storyboards for the episodes "Fear of a Krabby Patty" and "Mermaidman and Barnacleboy V," as well as the SpongeBob interactive comic "Super Suspicion" from Nick Magazine.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Spongebob Squarepants: Fear Of A Krabby Patty a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 77

Perp Profile

Studio: Paramount
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Release Year: 2005
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Storyboards
• Nick Magazine "SpongeBob SquarePants" Interactive Comic Book

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2005 Patrick Naugle; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.