DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 19851

Buy Scrubs: The Complete Ninth And Final Season at Amazon

Scrubs: The Complete Ninth And Final Season

ABC Studios // 2009 // 390 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // October 6th, 2010

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson says the time of the death for this series was 2010.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Scrubs: The Complete First Season (published July 13th, 2005), Scrubs: The Complete Second Season (published June 7th, 2006), Scrubs: The Complete Third Season (published May 29th, 2006), Scrubs: The Complete Fifth Season (published May 22nd, 2007), Scrubs: The Complete Sixth Season (published October 30th, 2007), Scrubs: The Complete Seventh Season (published November 13th, 2008), Scrubs: The Complete Eighth Season (published September 2nd, 2009), and Scrubs: The Complete Eighth Season (Blu-Ray) (published November 23rd, 2009) are also available.

The Charge

Why?

Opening Statement

Like a terminal patient whose life is being extended in a drawn-out and miserable fashion, Scrubs continues on into its ninth season, with a new network, new characters, and new awfulness.

Facts of the Case

Sacred Heart Hospital is history, so the action shifts to Sacred Heart Medical School. There, JD (Zach Braff, Garden State) embarks on a teaching career, where he aims to instruct the new generation of scrubs in the nuances of medicine and talking like an effeminate Muppet.

Heading the band of noobs is Lucy (Kerry Bishe), an eager student who is forced to learn all the painful lessons JD endured, primarily weathering the storm of ill-tempered Dr. Cox (John C. McGinley, Wild Hogs) and some other stuff I forgot.

The Evidence

ABC's last run at resurrecting Scrubs turns out to be a pathetic misfire. Essentially a "start-over" for the franchise, the cornerstone characters return as either spot guest stars or back-up, the attention shifting to a new stable of recruits who prove to be a whole lot less interesting than the cadavers they're surrounded by.

Let's see, there's Lucy, the naïve fill-in for JD's character; she's so non-descript I can barely summon a descriptor to characterize her. She slept with one of her classmates. I remember that much. She also learned a Tough Moral Lesson about death…or something. Then there's the horny, good-looking jerk, and the guy who started dating that tough, sarcastic girl. Oh, and the tough, sarcastic girl. No one here is interesting enough to carry the show, and long-time Scrubs devotees will likely lament the abbreviated roles of JD, Turk, Cox, Elliot and Kelso…or will they?

I don't know. Anything is possible. I haven't watched much Scrubs, but the main characters irritated me fairly quickly. Save for Cox, whose sarcastic cynicism remained enjoyable, I can't think of anyone who didn't grate. Turk? Not sure if he was ever funny. Elliot? She made some funny faces and talked about her large pregnancy boobs but that's about it. JD? Oof. I like Zach Braff and all, but he's transformed JD into a complete nitwit. The baby voice, the fantasies, it's all amped up to the point of a self-parody. What is that, two parodies deep then?

Braff is in about half the episodes, eventually ceding head character duties to Lucy and her boring cronies. I couldn't tell you which lineup I'd rather have in there.

The DVD set is unimpressive. Episodes are transmitted in a mediocre full-frame transfer (full frame?) and slapped with a front-loaded 5.1 surround mix. Extras: a featurette on the overhaul to the series with interviews of the cast and crew, deleted scenes and an unfunny series of "security guard" shorts.

Closing Statement

At a mere 13 episodes, you'll be out of your misery soon.

The Verdict

The plug has been pulled.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Scrubs: The Complete Ninth And Final Season a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict



DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Video: 70
Audio: 80
Extras: 75
Acting: 70
Story: 55
Judgment: 58

Perp Profile

Studio: ABC Studios
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
• French
• Spanish
Running Time: 390 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• Comedy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Deleted Scenes
• Featurette
• Gag Reel
• Short Films

Accomplices

• IMDb








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2010 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.