DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 14779: Small Claims Court

Buy Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch at Amazon

Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch

Nickelodeon // 2008 // 99 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // October 20th, 2008

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson is part of the local chapter of the Dancey Dance Bunch. He's their treasurer.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Yo Gabba Gabba! Birthday Boogie! (published February 1st, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus (published June 19th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Clubhouse (published June 14th, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor! (published January 16th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Meet My Family (published October 20th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Makes Me Move! (published August 21st, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! New Friends (published April 6th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box (published July 12th, 2011), and Yo Gabba Gabba! Super Spies (published April 28th, 2012) are also available.

The Charge

"Thanks for watching my worm babies!"

The Case

Holy Cow. I've seen a lot of whacked-out things during my tenure at DVD Verdict. I've reviewed bat-@#$% crazy stuff like Entrails of a Virgin, Extreme Chickfights, Psycho Kickboxer, NWF Kids Pro Wrestling, Crackheadz Gone Wild, Weasels Rip My Flesh—I could continue, but I'm starting to depress myself. The funny thing is, some of the craziest releases have been kid-specific. Poo-bah, Lazytown, Teletubbies—all no doubt designed by PhDs in Early Education and Child Psychology to specifically target developing emotions and gross motor skills and what have you, but nonetheless f-ing weird.

And now here's the craziest of them all, guaranteed to send your soul screaming into the abyss: Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch! I don't think my moderate writing skills can accurately describe the bizarreness that awaits you once you hit the PLAY button.

Yet, despite the mind-torching insanity, Yo Gabba Gabba is mysteriously, maddeningly, ashamedly, compulsively watchable. I could not take my eyes off of this—the dancing, the costumes, the faux-techno, the weird transitions with young kids bouncing around a video game. It's surreal, sometimes disturbingly so, but I don't have a doubt in my mind that little children will just eat this up.

Here's the rundown for the Dancey Dancey Bunch and their shenanigans:

Our host is DJ Lance, a perpetually smiling, unendingly energetic guy in a shockingly red jumpsuit and a big furry, orange hat. He's got a magic suitcase that opens up to Yo Gabba Gabba land (or something), revealing the five friends: Toodee, a blue wolf; Plex, a magic robot; Brobee, a freak with grotesquely long arms; Foofa, the perpetually happy flower girl; and Muno, the one-eyed alien monster in a rubber suit. Shows focus on individual themes, with the Yo Gabba Gabba crew singing rap songs, intercut with animated stories, brief sequences of dancing children, drawing lessons with some weirdo with wild hair and big glasses, a dance lesson supplied by a moderate celebrity (e.g. Elijah Wood and some other people that I couldn't quite place) and, finally, a wrap-up song routine. The four shows on this disc tackle such hard-hitting topics as "Friends" and "Eat" and "Dance" and "Happy."

The target demographic is the tiny tots. The program employs boisterous singing and dancing, combined with larger-than-life characters making pronounced gesticulations and facial contortions, while repeating their simple dialogue over and over. Using the eye candy as an "in," the Yo Gabba Gabba pals will no doubt tattoo your offspring's brain with their lessons of taking turns, keeping your hands to yourself, and eating fruit.

Sounds good? Great. Just be prepared to have your mind blown.

Nearly 100 minutes of this insanity, transmitted in full frame and 2.0 stereo, with some trailers and a brief introduction to the Dancey Dancey Bunch.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 85

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Release Year: 2008
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Concerts and Musicals
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Meet the Dancey Dancey Bunch

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site
• YouTube: Opening Credits








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2008 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.