DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 21590: Small Claims Court

Buy Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus at Amazon

Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus

Nickelodeon // 2011 // 95 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge David Johnson // June 19th, 2011

• View Judge Johnson's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Johnson
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge David Johnson is the little green one.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Yo Gabba Gabba! Birthday Boogie! (published February 1st, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Clubhouse (published June 14th, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor! (published January 16th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Meet My Family (published October 20th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Makes Me Move! (published August 21st, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! New Friends (published April 6th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box (published July 12th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Super Spies (published April 28th, 2012), and Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch (published October 20th, 2008) are also available.

The Charge

"Listening and dancing to music…is…awesome!!!"

The Case

It is transfixing. That beach-sound opening where DJ Lance Rock, clad in his orange jumpsuit, walks through a white vacuum, holding a giant boombox. When that musical cue kicks in, the one that signifies the awakening of Muno, Brobee, Toodee, Foofa and Plex from their mystical imprisonment, all children within a ten-foot radius are drawn in, trance-like. I've seen it happen. In my own living room. From my own daughter.

And I'm fine with that.

Yo Gabba Gabba! is awesome, delirious awesomeness, a wild show for toddlers that pumps out lessons about not biting and trying real hard and not giving up and having parties in your tummy, set against some dope tunes and trippy visuals. I'll just say it: it's the best little kids show out there.

Nickelodeon has a quartet of episodes for you:

• "Circus"
Weird Al Yankovic guest stars as a ringmaster for a traveling circus. Brobee discovers his love for dressing up as a clown, solidifying his role as a tormentor of your child's dreams for years to come.

weird al
on yo gabba gabba circus

• "Treasure"
Plex and Muno are joined by a pair of guest star elves to search for a treasure and discover a bubble-blowing robot, which, frankly is about the coolest treasure I can think of.

• "Flying"
The Gabbaland friends pile into a hot air balloon, much to Brobee's amusement.

• "Fun"
Really, this title can apply to any Yo Gabba Gabba episode. It's a smorgasbord of fun-having activities, with everyone enjoying such enjoyable diversions like eating breakfast and dancing.

That's it. A no-nonsense DVD. I'd rather see full seasons, but let's be honest: the diminutive target audience could watch this stuff over and over again.

The disc: full frame, 2.0 stereo, no extras.

The Verdict

Not Guilty, but that's because Yo Gabba Gabba! rules. The DVD is threadbare.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 80

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (CC)
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Concerts and Musicals
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2011 David Johnson; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.