DVD Verdict
Home About Deals Gift Guide Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Judges Jury Room Contact  

Case Number 20509: Small Claims Court

Buy Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor! at Amazon

Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor!

Nickelodeon // 2011 // 96 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Erich Asperschlager // January 16th, 2011

• View Judge Asperschlager's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Asperschlager
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Erich Asperschlager has a fever, and the only prescription is more Yo Gabba Gabba!

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Yo Gabba Gabba! Birthday Boogie! (published February 1st, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Circus (published June 19th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Clubhouse (published June 14th, 2010), Yo Gabba Gabba! Meet My Family (published October 20th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Makes Me Move! (published August 21st, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! New Friends (published April 6th, 2009), Yo Gabba Gabba! Party In A Box (published July 12th, 2011), Yo Gabba Gabba! Super Spies (published April 28th, 2012), and Yo Gabba Gabba! The Dancey Dance Bunch (published October 20th, 2008) are also available.

The Charge

"Hey! What do you want to play Toodee?"
"Um, I think we should play Crazy Jumping Pirate Bugs!"

The Case

Man, did I back the right horse! I've been the go-to Verdict Yo Gabba Gabba reviewer for a while now. Not only do I have a soft spot for this weird slice of kids' edutainment, but I secretly hoped that it would pay off with my infant daughter. Before she had the verbal skills to protest, I forced her to listen to the Gabba Music is Awesome! CD (which totally lives up to its name, by the way). Then, not too long ago, my wife got home from picking her up at daycare and said the six sweetest words in the English language: "Our child loves Yo Gabba Gabba!." Since that joyous day, the Asperschlager house has turned into Gabba central. Morning car trips are accompanied by endless loops of her favorite tunes; post-dinner playtime is spent with the Gabba bath toys she got for Christmas. We're barely two weeks into 2011, but I think I sewed up Father of the Year by bringing home Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit the Doctor!, their latest four-episode DVD compilation.

• "Doctor"
Toodee's super fun day of having super fun is cut short when she gets sick. At first, she doesn't want to see the doctor, but DJ Lance and her friends convince her it's a good idea, and Plex uses his magic robot ray to bring him to Gabbaland. Played by bad boy celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain (on his best behavior here), Dr. Tony recommends that Toodee get lots of rest and eat some chicken soup. Brobee, Muno, and Foofa overhear and take it upon themselves to make the soup, while singing about it. Toodee gets better in time to see Of Montreal sing "Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, Toast" on the Super Music Friend Show. Also in the episode: Biz's get-well Beat of the Day, and Storytime.

• "Teeth"
DJ Lance thinks back to the day Muno's baby teeth fell out. After helping him dance and wiggle them out, Toodee and Foofa tell Muno that if he puts his teeth under his pillow at night, he'll be visited by the Tooth Fairy (played by an extra-toothy Amy Sedaris) and get money that he can use to buy something fun. Elsewhere in the episode, Datarock plays "Smile for the Camera," Of Montreal sings "Brush Brush Brush," a girl shows off a Cool Trick involving a simling donkey, and Mark Mothersbaugh proves that he's still as weird as ever by drawing a flute-playing tooth that jams on "Camptown Races."

• "Clean"
Plex flexes his special robot powers by issuing a series of "Icky Alerts," calling out his friends for spreading germs. He and DJ Lance (who, given the bright white room he lives in, has to be a neat freak) teach the gang about washing with soap, baths, and using shampoo. Even Plex gets in on the shower action, putting the whole "water and electricity don't mix" idea to the test. Super Music Friends Chromeo perform "Nice 'n' Clean," and although it has nothing to do with the rest of the episode, Rachel Dratch does a Dancey Dance, and "Questlove" and Frank "Knuckles" from The Roots stop by for a drum lesson.

• "Car"
Even though Gabbaland is about four feet across, the gang goes for a ride in a car. They learn valuable lessons about buckling up, not running out in the road, and remembering where you put your pillow socky. Other segments include Biz's Beat of the Day, Dancey Dance with country music duo Sugarland, playing pretend with Muno, Cool Tricks with guitarists from The Aquabats and Supernova, Funny Faces, Storytime about a mean gorilla, and listening for sounds with Toodee.

If you've bought any of these Yo Gabba Gabba! releases in the past, then you know what to expect from Let's Visit the Doctor!. Full frame picture, stereo sound, no extras. But c'mon…do you really need to know anything more about human-sized rubber creatures who live on a cardboard playset under the watchful eye of a bespectacled, self-proclaimed DJ who wears a skin-tight orange jumpsuit and a big fuzzy hat? Besides, my daughter is obsessed with it. If I hear her say that Toodee is sick one more time…I'll patiently listen and giver her a kiss on the head. Hey, what can I say? I'm a great dad.

The Verdict

Don't worry, I washed my hands before delivering this not guilty verdict!

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Yo Gabba Gabba! Let's Visit The Doctor! a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 90

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• English (SDH)
Running Time: 96 Minutes
Release Year: 2011
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Fantasy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• None

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2011 Erich Asperschlager; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.