DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 20899: Small Claims Court

Buy Spongebob Squarepants: The Great Patty Caper at Amazon

Spongebob Squarepants: The Great Patty Caper

Nickelodeon // 2009 // 89 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Roy Hrab (Retired) // March 13th, 2011

• View Judge Hrab's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hrab
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Roy Hrab says just stop it.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 1 (published December 12th, 2007), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete First Season (published November 10th, 2003), Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 2 (published November 27th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: The Complete Third Season (published February 8th, 2006), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete Seventh Season (published December 11th, 2011), SpongeBob Squarepants: 10 Happiest Moments (published September 19th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Fear Of A Krabby Patty (published August 31st, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Friend Or Foe? (published August 29th, 2007), Spongebob Squarepants: Home Sweet Pineapple (published January 19th, 2005), SpongeBob SquarePants: Legends of Bikini Bottom (published December 12th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Nautical Nonsense / Sponge Buddies (published March 19th, 2002), Spongebob Squarepants: Sponge For Hire (published February 9th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob Vs. The Big One (published March 16th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob's Pest Of The West (published April 25th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongicus (published April 9th, 2009), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Seaside Capers (published March 13th, 2004), Spongebob Squarepants: To Love A Patty (published February 6th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: To Squarepants Or Not To Squarepants (published July 27th, 2009), SpongeBob Squarepants: Triton's Revenge (published September 11th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Truth Or Square (published November 20th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Where's Gary? (published December 14th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Who Bob What Pants? (published November 13th, 2008), and Spongebob's Runaway Roadtrip (published September 25th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

"Aren't you getting a little tired of this, Plankton?"

The Case

Hey, what's going on? I stated at the end of my review of SpongeBob SquarePants: Triton's Revenge that I "vow not to review another SpongeBob DVD. I mean it this time. Honest." What can I tell you? I don't really know what to say. Maybe my memory is going. Maybe I unconsciously want the show to redeem itself. Or perhaps I enjoy wasting my time watching this dreck. Who knows? No matter the answer, this release did nothing to change my view of this once funny show.

SpongeBob SquarePants: The Great Patty Caper is a collection of seven episodes from Season 7 of the now quite, very, totally exhausted, tired and burned out SpongeBob SquarePants franchise.

• "The Great Patty Caper"
Once again, Plankton attempts to steal the Krabby Patty recipe. This prompts Mr. Krabs to secure the recipe in a safety deposit box. Circumstances require the recipe to be retrieved, so Krabs sends SpongeBob to the bank via train. Plankton follows. The key goes missing. High jinks ensue!

• "Growth Spout"
Mr. Krab's daughter Pearl is going through a rapid growth spurt, and she's really, really, really hungry. Krabs goes off in the middle of the night, looking for food. High jinks ensue!!

• "Stuck In The Wringer"
SpongeBob gets himself stuck in his wringer. Patrick comes along and makes SpongeBob even more stuck. High jinks ensue!!!

• "Someone's In The Kitchen With Sandy"
Once more, Plankton attempts to steal the Krabby Patty recipe. This time he steals Sandy's fur in order to impersonate her to fool SpongeBob. High jinks…never mind.

• "The Inside Job"
Guess what? Plankton attempts to steal the Krabby Patty recipe, again…This time he literally gets into SpongeBob's head for the recipe. Sigh…

• "Greasy Buffoons"
Plankton and Mr. Krabs try to one-up each other by trying to serve the greasiest possible dish in this fast food war. Yawn…

• "Model Sponge"
SpongeBob decides to…zzz…attempt a career at…zzz…being an actual sponge…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

As is typical with SpongeBob releases, the full screen video is flawless, rich and colourful. The stereo audio is clear and crisp.

The extras are three shorts: "Spongeholmes," "The Porter Reveal," and "Gumshoe Bob."

Wow, this is probably the most boring set of SpongeBob episodes I've ever seen. In past reviews, I have remarked about the decline of the show. Specifically, I found the hyperactive series increasingly annoying and lacking any humor beyond juvenile comedy. This time around, the episodes just drag. The energy is gone. There are a few gross gags. The storylines have been seen many times before. There is a palpable weariness and going-through-the-motions feel to everything.

I think the series has completely run out of gas, but Season 8 is on the air. Do as you will.

The Verdict

Guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give Spongebob Squarepants: The Great Patty Caper a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 50

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Bad
• Comedy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Animated Shorts

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2011 Roy Hrab; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.