DVD Verdict
Home About News Blu-ray DVD Reviews Upcoming DVD Releases Contest Podcasts Forums Judges Contact  

Case Number 19654: Small Claims Court

Buy SpongeBob Squarepants: Triton's Revenge at Amazon

SpongeBob Squarepants: Triton's Revenge

Nickelodeon // 2009 // 89 Minutes // Not Rated
Reviewed by Judge Roy Hrab (Retired) // September 11th, 2010

• View Judge Hrab's Dossier
• E-mail Judge Hrab
• Printer Friendly Review


Every purchase you make through these Amazon links supports DVD Verdict's reviewing efforts. Thank you!




 

All Rise...

Judge Roy Hrab wants to stop the sponge.

Editor's Note

Our reviews of Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 1 (published December 12th, 2007), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete First Season (published November 10th, 2003), Spongebob Squarepants: Season 5, Volume 2 (published November 27th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: The Complete Third Season (published February 8th, 2006), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Complete Seventh Season (published December 11th, 2011), SpongeBob Squarepants: 10 Happiest Moments (published September 19th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Fear Of A Krabby Patty (published August 31st, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Friend Or Foe? (published August 29th, 2007), Spongebob Squarepants: Home Sweet Pineapple (published January 19th, 2005), SpongeBob SquarePants: Legends of Bikini Bottom (published December 12th, 2010), Spongebob Squarepants: Nautical Nonsense / Sponge Buddies (published March 19th, 2002), Spongebob Squarepants: Sponge For Hire (published February 9th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob Vs. The Big One (published March 16th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongebob's Pest Of The West (published April 25th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: Spongicus (published April 9th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: The Great Patty Caper (published March 13th, 2011), SpongeBob SquarePants: The Seaside Capers (published March 13th, 2004), Spongebob Squarepants: To Love A Patty (published February 6th, 2008), Spongebob Squarepants: To Squarepants Or Not To Squarepants (published July 27th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Truth Or Square (published November 20th, 2009), Spongebob Squarepants: Where's Gary? (published December 14th, 2005), Spongebob Squarepants: Who Bob What Pants? (published November 13th, 2008), and Spongebob's Runaway Roadtrip (published September 25th, 2011) are also available.

The Charge

"Chum is fum."

The Case

SpongeBob SquarePants: Triton's Revenge is a collection of seven episodes from Season 7 of the series. The episodes are:

• "The Clash of Triton"
It's Neptune's 5000th birthday, but he's depressed about his long-disowned son, Triton. SpongeBob sets out to make things right as only he can.

• "Sand Castles in the Sand"
At the beach, SpongeBob and Patrick get into an arms race while building rival sand castles.

• "Shell Shocked"
SpongeBob accidentally breaks Gary's shell, necessitating a trip to Angry Jack's Shell Emporium.

• "Chum Bucket Supreme"
Plankton enlists Patrick to come up with a catchy slogan to lure customers into the Chum Bucket.

• "Single Cell Anniversary"
Plankton forgets that it's his wedding anniversary with his computer wife, Karen. He needs to give her a gift from the heart, if he wants to get his gift: the Krabby Patty formula.

• "Tentacle-Vision"
Squidward gets his own public access television show. Unfortunately, SpongeBob, Patrick, Mr. Krabs, Plankton, and the rest of Bikini Bottom decide to crash the party.

• "I Heart Dancing"
SpongeBob's dance moves at the Krusty Krab earn him an audition for a show and Squidward's jealously.

I really used to enjoy SpongeBob, but I must be a sucker for punishment. This is my sixth review of a SpongeBob DVD. I don't why I keep coming back for more because I've noted in previous reviews that I believe the quality of this show has fallen significantly over the past few seasons. Hope of a return to former glory springs eternal, I guess.

Unfortunately, such hopes are dashed (yet again) in SpongeBob SquarePants: Triton's Revenge. This collection represents the latest group of episodes highlighting the show's continued slide into mediocre kids' fare. The series is exclusively aimed at the pre-teen audience now. It's all sound and fury. Loud noises and frantic action fill the screen to little or no purpose. It's all punch lines and no jokes or clever set-ups. There's not one episode here that I would recommend to anybody above the age of 12.

As with all recent SpongeBob releases, the full screen video is flawless, rich and colourful. The stereo audio is similarly good.

The extras are a couple of shorts from "Clack of the Triton," and an episode of the show Fanboy & Chum Chum, which is way more annoying than it sounds.

In closing, I offer one recommendation to the minds behind SpongeBob. To help rejuvenate the series, introduce some new characters. More characters would allow new and more varied stories. This is also one of the not so secret ingredients to the success of The Simpsons.

Oh, I also vow not to review another SpongeBob DVD. I mean it this time. Honest.

The Verdict

Guilty.

Give us your feedback!

Did we give SpongeBob Squarepants: Triton's Revenge a fair trial? yes / no

Share This Review


Follow DVD Verdict


Other Reviews You Might Enjoy

• Easy Virtue
• Mo' Money
• Airplane II: The Sequel
• The Blues Brothers

DVD Reviews Quick Index

• DVD Releases
• Recent DVD Reviews
• Search for a DVD review...

Scales of Justice

Judgment: 50

Perp Profile

Studio: Nickelodeon
Video Formats:
• Full Frame
Audio Formats:
• Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo (English)
Subtitles:
• None
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Release Year: 2009
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Genres:
• All Ages
• Animation
• Bad
• Comedy
• Television

Distinguishing Marks

• Shorts
• Bonus Episode

Accomplices

• IMDb
• Official Site








DVD | Blu-ray | Upcoming DVD Releases | About | Staff | Jobs | Contact | Subscribe | Find us on Google+ | Privacy Policy

Review content copyright © 2010 Roy Hrab; Site design and review layout copyright © 2014 Verdict Partners LLC. All rights reserved.